• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

    In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

    Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

    Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Arguement against my step-dad

Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hello,

So one of my RAM stopped working in my Macbook Pro, so I'm left with only 2GB left of RAM. I told my step dad that I need a new RAM and he said that you need a new processor as well if you want more RAM. My step-dad is probably one of the people that has no idea how technology works, and when you try to argue against him, he starts shouting and telling like no tomorrow because he thinks he's right.

So he says:"To get more RAM or the same amount, you need to get a new processor as well." Inside my head I'm facepalming hard because processor and RAM do two different things.

Then I told him I'd just get a new RAM but the same one as I had in before, and then he tells me they don't make those anymore. And It's a Macbook Pro from 2012, I'm sure they do.

Is he right, or wrong?
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
15,816
Reaction score
2,170
Points
113
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Welcome to Mac-Forums..

He's wrong.

Visit OWC and grab the amount of memory you want..

Your MBP supports a maximum of 16GB.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
296
Reaction score
5
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
A1286 MBP5,3 running 10.9.5, iphone6, Mac mini1,1 A1176 120/2gb
When you order it, Max it out if you can afford it. It will make quite a difference.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Just "piling on" here. But yes...Dad does not "Win The New Car" this time!;)

Just replace the ram that isn't working (get you back to 4gig)...or if you want to...upgrade further.

Not only can we EASILY still get ram for a 2012 MacBook Pro...we can easily still get ram for Apple computers from the 1990's!:)

Example:

Apple Quadra 605

- Nick

p.s. By the way. Maybe Dad was just "playing dumb"...if he's the one who has to pay for this ram (but really doesn't want to).;)
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
17,625
Reaction score
1,628
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
I guess I'd be curious as to how the OP diagnosed that the "RAM stopped working"…???
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top