Alesis Q49 Keyboard recognized but won't play

Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hey all, I purchased an alesis 49 keyboard 8 months ago, used it for a few months, and now am trying to use it again but I've been having some difficulty. It seems that it is recognized by my mac atleast somewhat because in garageband under the audio/media icon in preferences it says that one midi device has been. However, underneath the input, it is only giving me the options of system setting or build in microphone. I have called a techi and he told me it was not supposed to show up there anyways, but it still does not make any sound. I am just using a USB chord to plug it in, and the power on my midi keyboard is definitely on.

I have looked under the "audio midi setup" applications and it appears that my device is recognized there too. (It shows up as q49 under show midi window)

BUT if I go into the system preferences application under "sound" only the built in microphone shows up under input.

I have attached many screenshots for further clarification. I've spent hours and hours trying to fix this. Any help would be MUCH appreciated!

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 6.35.16 PM.png

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 6.27.52 PM.png

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 6.27.45 PM.png

Screen Shot 2015-03-03 at 6.27.16 PM.png
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Hey all, I purchased an alesis 49 keyboard 8 months ago, used it for a few months, and now am trying to use it again but I've been having some difficulty.

What has changed with your computer since 8 months ago when the keyboard was working & used for about 3 months…and now?

- Nick
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,217
Reaction score
1,426
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
OP
S
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Sorry, I really don't remember doing any updates within the past few months. Is there some way that I can check just in case my memory has failed me?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
For answers to your 1 and 3 go into the App Store and select Purchases.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top