27-inch and graphics card compatibility

Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I will be placing an order for a 27-inch iMac within the week, and I just had a quick question about comparability. I want to upgrade the graphics card, but I'm not sure which cards are all compatible with the iMac. Does anybody happen to have a list of these?
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
The graphics card is not upgradeable in an iMac. You'll need to buy the machine that has the card you want out of the choices available.
 
OP
I
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I was told by a tech (or something like that) from Apple that it can be upgraded. The graphics card just wouldn't be covered under warranty..
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
9,383
Reaction score
417
Points
83
Location
Irvine, CA
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Not in the iMac, they're soldered to the logic board. The only Mac that can have its graphics card updated is the Mac Pro.
 
OP
I
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Thanks then.

*sigh* I was hoping to get a better graphics card in there.

I guess I have another question then. I plan on hooking up my PS3 to the iMac, using the Atlona AT-DP400, using the iMac as a TV. Would the Radeon 4670 run this fine without lag, or should I get the 4850?
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,215
Reaction score
1,425
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I was told by a tech (or something like that) from Apple that it can be upgraded. The graphics card just wouldn't be covered under warranty..

Maybe there was some confusion regarding the upgrading question between you and the Apple tech. person. You can upgrade the video card in a 27" iMac...but only at the time of ordering it.

For example...if you were purchasing the 27" core 2 duo iMac...you can upgrade the video card from the Radeon 4670 to the Radeon 4850.

But like already mentioned...once you place your order & get it home...the iMac video card cannot be upgraded.

Hope this helps,:)

- Nick
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
For that purpose it should not matter.

I don't even think the video card comes into play while using the iMac only as an external monitor for another device. Even if it does, neither one of those cards should have any issue with 720p (highest you'll be able to use with the PS3) quite handily. The work is being done by the processor and graphics card of the PS3, not the monitor.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
9,383
Reaction score
417
Points
83
Location
Irvine, CA
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Why do you think 720p is the highest resolution? The monitor is more than capable of 1080p. Or is it a technical limitation on the input port?
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Must be a limitation of the input port. Have not seen anything from Apple listing the input capabilities. The tech specs of the Atlona device the op is linking to says the iMac does not accept 1080i or p as in input resolution and 720p must be used for both the Xbox and PS3. I'm "assuming" Atlona got it right.

This is the first device I've actually seen "on the market" that can make use of this port on the iMacs.
And they're raping 'em too - $200 to convert from DVI to mini-display port.
I guess it's cheaper than another monitor though.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
9,383
Reaction score
417
Points
83
Location
Irvine, CA
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Why couldn't you just use something like this instead?
 
OP
I
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Because that only works one way Mini-Display -> HDMI.
The Mac's don't natively support HDMI input, so you need a cable like the one I'm getting, that converts the signal.

EDIT: Ohh, and thanks for the help everybody. I appreciate it.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Because it's a one way adapter. It won't convert the opposite way, HDMI to mini-display port.

There have been 3 or 4 manufacturers saying they'd have an adapter out this spring. This Atlona is just the first one I've seen come to reality. Have not heard anything from monoprice about them coming out with one, so the rip off specialty manufacturers may get the money they're asking.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2006
Messages
9,383
Reaction score
417
Points
83
Location
Irvine, CA
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Ohh, that explains it. $200 for a converter is a ripoff, totally lame.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top