What to do with my Macbook ?

Reaction score
I have a MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015), 2.17Ghz, I5, 8gb memory, 120gb disk, running Catalina, also running Parallels for desktop

The screen is damaged to so I am connected to a monitor, I am running out of space and I cant install Garageband, the Mac and OS is not compatible

I am a software developer and part-time musician

Can I upgrade this Mac to allow me to install Garageband etc or should I be looking at a newer ( NOT new ! ) MacBook air

Thanks a lot

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Your computer is compatible with macOS Big Sur and you should upgrade to that and you should be able to install a version of Garageband from the App Store that is compatible.

OP
S
Reaction score
I tired that. I my sons is the same model as mine but with Big Sur and App Store says

"...could no complete the purchase..garageband cant be installed macOS version 12.3 or later is required @

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
You must complete the update to Big Sur first and then try to update GarageBand. When you attempt to download software from the App Store I'm pretty sure it checks to see if your machine meets the program's minimum hardware and software requirements.

OP
S
Reaction score
Not sure what you mean ?.. his Mac already has Big Sur installed and as I said in my message it requires12.3 or later and Big Sur is 11

So again just need advice as to whether I can upgrade my 2015 MacBook to the latest OS or whether I will have to buy a newer macbook air ?

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I'm going to take a guess here and bet that his Mac has an older version of GarageBand if he is running Big Sur. I didn't realize it when I made the previous post but the current version of GarageBand, which was updated recently IIRC, requires macOS Monterey.

OP
S