Need Urgent Help with my MacBook Pro Model A1278

Warriorand

Reaction score
Hi,
As the title says, I need help with my macbook pro model A1278,
I know is old, but it really works well,
My problem is that the hdd failed, sudden death, so now I have to reinstall everything again,
I bought an ssd (dont know if that is the problem becuase of the age of my mac) and try to to follow tutorials, and blogs, however,
I can not get the mac to reinstall the OS, can someone please help and explain me like step by step how should
the new os installation should be done, dont know if it is ssd compatibility, if I should buy and hhd? or what I'm doing wrong.

I dont have any other mac in case if needed it, however i do have a Windows Pc, in case it shoud be take in consideration.
Sorry if I didnt post the thread in the correct part, Im new to this.

I havent tried to send my mac to a workshop because is expensive and I want to learn how to do this things myself.

Thanks in advance for all the help you the community can give me.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Just to be sure...was this new SSD installed internally...in place of the old hard drive?

Two options:

Option #1: Reboot the computer...and immediately press the 3-key combo of Option + Command + r keys. This is "Internet Recovery". This generally installs the macOS that came with the computer when it was 1st purchased. This macOS version may be older than you want...but it will at least get you up & running...until you are ready to install the macOS you prefer to have.

Option #2: Make a USB thumb drive bootable installer of the macOS version you prefer to install. Many articles on the internet explain how to do this...and where to get the macOS install file you need.

HTH,

Nick

OP
W

Warriorand

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply,