Need advice deciding between two

Reaction score
Hey everyone- first post here!

So amidst all the 2016 MacBook Pro hype I've gone for a 2015 13inch with 2.9ghz/512gb/8gb which I got for £1400.

However with a little more research I saw I can get educational discount (I'm a teacher) and get a 2.7ghz/512gb/16gb 2015 13 inch from Apple for £1610.

My question is am I over thinking it? I use my current MacBook for Logic Pro and everyday uses. I know either machine will be a big bump up for me; I guess it's more a case of will I need 16gb RAM in the future with updates/new software and plugins? Or is this extra RAM not going to be noticeable with what I'm using it for?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to our forums.

Our advice is always buy as much machine as you can afford keeping in mind your future needs. With that in mind, the 16GB model for £1610 might be a better choice. Also, have you considered the new line of MacBook Pro machines that Apple has announced for 2016?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
So amidst all the 2016 MacBook Pro hype I've gone for a 2015 13inch with 2.9ghz/512gb/8gb which I got for £1400.

Are you able to return this one...if you decided to get the other one?

However with a little more research I saw I can get educational discount (I'm a teacher) and get a 2.7ghz/512gb/16gb 2015 13 inch from Apple for £1610.

My question is am I over thinking it? I use my current MacBook for Logic Pro and everyday uses. I know either machine will be a big bump up for me; I guess it's more a case of will I need 16gb RAM in the future with updates/new software and plugins? Or is this extra RAM not going to be noticeable with what I'm using it for?