Memory Upgrade for IMAC Mid 2007

Reaction score
I just bought a used IMAC mid 2007. I am new to mac computers so don't flame me if this is a stupid question. I have been working with windows computers going back to windows 3.1.

The first thing I decided to do was upgrade the memory from 2 gig to 4.

I bought 2 new memory sticks.

( 2GB PC2-5300/5400 DDR 2 667Mhz Non ECC LD)

Now when I boot up IO get 3 beeps and it will not start up.

I have double and triple checked that I installed the memory correctly.

I guess my question is did I buy the correct memory and am I doing something wrong?

Could the memory just be bad?

Thanks in Advance

SkyKing

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Macs can be a bit tempermental about the memory used. I've heard of some cases where PC memory that apppeared to be of the same spec did not work.

Do you have the original memory to put bck into the machine to see if it starts to boot correctly?

Most of our forum regulars suggest checking either Crucial or OWC MacSales

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Agree with Sly. Memory from OWC and Crucial is guaranteed to work. Are you sure the Dimms are fully seated? Since you installed them from the bottom and really can't see them, you push pretty hard till you feel them slide all the way in the slots.

I own that same iMac and have 2x 2GB dimms and it works great. With OWC ram you can put it up to 6GB which helps with the latest versions of MAC OS.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks for the info. I did indeed install the old memory and it works just fine. I will send it back. The comment about the OWC ram intrigues me. Do I just but 1 stick at 6Gb or 2 sticks at 3 Gb. I am used to windows where you have to buy install in pairs.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs