MacBook Pro 2013 15" VS MacBook Pro 2016 13"

Reaction score
Hi! So, I'm finally deciding of shifting to Mac after about 5 years of Windows. The two Macs in my budget are:
  1. MacBook Pro 2013 15" - i7, 16 Gb RAM
  2. MacBook Pro 2016 13" - i5, 8 Gb RAM
Being a noob in Macs, I can't make a decision. I hope someone here can categorize these choices upon my needs. To help me, you might need to know my usage of course.
I'm a developer. What that means is that I almost always have about 12 tabs of StackOverflow open, along with my code editor (VS Code) and about two more desktop apps. What would be the best Mac for me out of these two without being an overkill?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
The processor speeds are not listed. There are 4 - 2016 13" models that have the i5 designation. And, 8 - 2013 15" models with the i7 designation.

See this webpage, Apple MacBook Pro Specs (All MacBook Pro Tech Specs): EveryMac.com

With those model year MBP's the 13" models have dual core processors, while the 15" models have quad core processors.

Also, those models have ram which is soldered into place and not upgradeable.

OP
I
Reaction score
The processor speeds are not listed. There are 4 - 2016 13" models that have the i5 designation. And, 8 - 2013 15" models with the i7 designation.

See this webpage, Apple MacBook Pro Specs (All MacBook Pro Tech Specs): EveryMac.com

With those model year MBP's the 13" models have dual core processors, while the 15" models have quad core processors.

Also, those models have ram which is soldered into place and not upgradeable.
Oh great! What do you i suggest i go for, keeping in mind my usage?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15