Is the Magic Keyboard the Only Compatible One for iMac 2017?

Reaction score

I have a flat keyboard first out in 2007 and purchased in 2011 +/-. I wore out the original one which came with my iMac 2009.

I prefer the wired version rather than the wireless. Unless Apple has improved the wireless version from its previous models where the batteries didn't last long. I'm a writer and go through keyboards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
Use the keyboard you are most comfortable with. You can always use the wireless one if/when needed.

OP
W
Reaction score
Is the Magic Keyboard wireless? I looked on the Apple site and it says it maintains a charge for a month yet it comes with a USB cable. So no batteries? Confused.

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
Only the wireless ones have a battery.

The wired keyboard has a USB connection to your Mac and one or two USB outputs which are low-powered and best suited for low demand devices. The wired KB also has the extended layout; the wireless one is smaller.

Of course you don’t have to use Apple keyboards. Plenty of others available.

Ian

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
It actually comes with a Thunderbolt cable for recharging. The earlier wireless keyboard uses AA batteries.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey