iMac Fusion for video?

Reaction score
I am ready to make the jump from a MacBook Pro to a 27inch iMac, 3.5GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 4GB VRAM, and the Fusion drive. I produce video for a living. Not 4K, but 1280x720 for Youtube delivery. I'd like to go SSD, but these are way outside my budget. I run Premier Pro, Photoshop, and other Adobe products. My question is, will this machine cut it for that format? Will the HD be fast enough to feed video without jerks or freezes? Or is this an issue for higher rez video files? In the future I plan to get an SSD external, maybe when the prices drop. Thanks in advance for any advice.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Will the HD be fast enough to feed video without jerks or freezes?

Users have been producing video content on Apple computers for decades with spinner HD's. Just make sure you have plenty of RAM.

Logically the other way of looking at things is. Even if there was an issue (and your budget won't allow for an SSD)...then what would you do (not produce any You Tube video)??...I think not. If the 27" iMac with the fusion drive is all that the budget will allow...then the 27" iMac with a fusion drive it has to be.:)

- Nick

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
A standard HDD at SATA 3 speeds can manage 500 MB/s read and write speeds which is more than sufficient for most needs. A SSD using the SATA 3 connector will go a little bit faster, it's the PCIe SSD connection that gets into the GB/s rates (the latest 2017 MBP is around 2 GB/s)

OP
K
Reaction score
Thanks for the info. You saved me from going to a Windows machine!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
Thanks for the info. You saved me from going to a Windows machine!