iMac blank screen - OS crashed?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac , MacBook Air (2019),MacBook Air M1
Got a new iMac last Thanksgiving - no problems. Last week, when I turned it on, there was nothing but a white screen - no icons, anything. Called APL care and they had me do this, do that and eventually try to reinstall snow leopard off of the install disk. Went OK until it said there's not enough room to install (actually have 463/500 GB free). So called back today, same procedure, but using disk utility. Had me use disk repair, when that's done do it again, then disk repair permission. If that doesn't get it going, he says I might need to erase and reinstall from scratch.
I'm sure someone (not me - I'm not tech savvy) can retrieve all my stuff and back it up before erasing, but I prefer not to do all that if possible.
Any thoughts? Similar episodes? Can I do something else? Do I need to take it to the apple store and talk to someone face to face?
Help please.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2 iMacs, 1 MBP, 1 UMB, 1 mini
Sounds like a hard drive failure, which means you are going to have to bite the bullet and take this in. There is a chance that disk warrior will save it....but you are, in all likelihood, going to lose your data on that disk. If you know someone that has a mac and an external sata enclosure, you could pull the drive out and check it to see if it is mountable and perhaps get some of your data off of it.

You are not the first "I wish I woulda backed up" story here, and you won't be the last. This, unfortunately, is how most people realize that regular back ups are a necessity. Time Machine makes it simple and painless.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15