going to be switiching from PC to Mac: external hard drive question

Reaction score
hello. i'm new here and will be switching from a PC to a new iMac in a few weeks. i'm a professional musician and will be doing a lot of music production on my new machine.

i had a question regarding external hard drives. right now, i have a 1TB glyph external drive with all of my music, movies, pictures, word documents, etc... it's obviously formatted for NTFS and is almost full. i plan on purchasing a new 4 TB G Drive (with thunderbolt and USB 3.0) which will be formatted to use with my new iMac. can i just drag and drop everything from my old NTFS drive to the new HFS drive and my new iMac will read and write flawlessly or is there another step i have to take? i've tried to do a few google searches but nothing is really turning up. thanks in advance and i look forward to joining the Mac community in the next few weeks!

p.s. i just heard about the Paragon software (NTFS for Mac). would it be better to format my new G Drive to NTFS and just download this new software from Paragon? i'm guessing that it works flawlessly with no problems?

Last edited:

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Welcome to Mac-Forums..

When you get your new drive, ensure that you format it ExFAT as opposed HFS. That way you can see it on your PC right now with your current NTFS drive. You should be able to copy the files over and be able to see the ExFAT drive on your Mac without any issues. This also allows you to share the drive with other Windows/Linux machines in the future.

If you want to access the NTFS drive directly on the Mac, you'll see the Paragon software.

OP
J
Reaction score
thanks for the reply ashwin! i always thought that exFAT was for removeable media like USB sticks. also, i want to be able to use time machine and the only way to do that is for the drive to be HFS+

Last edited:

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score