G5 goes "pop" and won't turn on now

Reaction score
I bought my Power Mac G5 in the spring of 2006. So it's just out of the 1 year warranty now. Pressed the power button today and it made a "pop" sound and now it won't turn on. Didn't smell any smoke. I tried resetting the SMU per Apple website instructions but that didn't do anything.

Is this a common thing to happen and if so, what is it that needs to be replaced? I would guess it's either the power supply or the motherboard but I'm fairly new to Macs so I'm seeking some help here.

Thanks!

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
This is just a guess but it really sounds like the Power Supply blew. I have had PC's with a pop like that and it was always the Power Supply.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
See Sig...
Chances are very high, as dtravis said, that the PSU puked. My money is on a cap blowing its top. Not an uncommon failure. Just hope that it didn't take the board or anything else in the system with it...

OP
G
Reaction score
*Update*

My particular Mac's serial # is just outside the range that are covered by the warranty extension for this problem. I called Apple and they didn't care. This is my first and last Mac.

Reaction score
did you buy with credit card?

Some credit cards extend the warranty by the amount of the original warranty. I know my AMEX does. Visa Signature cards do also. I hope you get it fixed! Good luck.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE