Flagging with Apple Mail

Reaction score
I hope I’m in the right forum , but for years I let my email get out of hand , I’m now using the Mac mail spp and trying to figure out flagging. If I flag an email , it still seems there’s an extra step of moving it to a folder . So if I flag my work emails with a red flag and my hobby emails with a blue flag , it seems now I’m flagging them and moving them, not to mention when the email has been read and complete, now you have another step of unflagging it.. am I correct with all this or am I doing this all wrong , do I maybe need to do something with filter along with flagging ? It’s so confusing . Thank you

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2018), Apple Watch: IPad Mini 3: Iphone 12 Pro
Hi Allana-

I am no expert but I think using flags frees you from having to use folders, its just not necessary anymore. You click on the corresponding flag on the sidebar to see your flag 'folder'. All a folder really does is sort your mail into one place, the flag really does the same thing. I do not like the mail app for gmail but I really like it for my other mail accounts. I have several flags and I also have a 'waiting for something' flag, 'to-do' and 'money' (bills needing to be paid). Those are temp flags because once I have the something I was waiting for, or did the to-do or paid the bill, the flag gets changed to its next flag, usually a more permanent flag. I do miss the ability to use multiple flags like in Outlook because occasionally that would help but it's not a deal breaker.

I do use a separate folder called 'receipts' and I have a rule to copy receipts over to this folder so I do not have to think about it. I copy them over instead of move because I have autopay set to some bills and I like to see the receipt in the main folder but then I do not really have to do anything to it since I have a rule set for it already.

Allison

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs