2HD Floppy Disks

Reaction score
What do I need to transfer data from my old 2HD floppy disks on to CDs I can use on my Mac El Capitan?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
That is a bit of a task!;) But first it would be great to know what Apple computers you have access to…so we can come up with some solutions (which depend what hardware you have available).

- Nick

OP
G
Reaction score
I no longer have the computers, just the floppy disks I used to create the data. I am a retired music teacher and over the course of my teaching career when the school system I taught in purchased and began using Mac Computers we went through various models. The first were the LC I, II and III's. When we used these models of the Mac computer I used a music software called Finale Allegro 1993 to write and arrange songs for my choirs and instrumental groups. Then in the nineties we began using Mac Plus. With the Mac Plus I updated my Finale Allegro to the new version at that time, Finale 2007. Fortunately, the floppy disks I used to write music and arranged songs on the older macs and the older version of Finale worked on it as well. About three or four years before we went from macs to dell laptops, we used the Apple iMac GC 3. Again the floppy disks I used on the older versions still worked with this version as well.

I also have a Yamaha PSR 730 piano keyboard I purchased in 1997 that had a floppy disk drive. I'd like to transfer the data from those disks too. With this being an older keyboard, I'm concerned that once it gives up the ghost, the data I've created on the floppy disks will be gone forever.

The computers I have now are Mac Lion, and Mac El Capitan.

I appreciate any information you can give me... Thanks...

Last edited:

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs