?: Your recommendation for Photo Editing MBP

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2016 MacBook (m5), 2013 macbook pro retina 15", 2009 MBP non retina 13", 2014 21" iMac
Hello everyone,

I appreciate any help you can give me!

I am a professional photographer and currently use a Late 2013 MBP 15" 16 GB RAM, 512 SSD, Dedicated graphics running High Sierra. I do not do any video editing but my photo files are large as I use a Sony a7riv camera with RAW files of 60-120mb each. I also usually have very large files after editing with a lot of layers.

Im not that knowledgeable these days with respect to the intricacies of Mac OS and Mac hardware but I believe my current MPB will not run the latest OS. Also, I cannot update my Adobe software with my current hardware and software. So, Im going to need a new MBP.

I don't have a particular budget per se, but Id like to keep the cost down to as low as possible with the caveat that I need the laptop to be fairly quick and able to run Photoshop, Lightroom and several plug ins.

Ideally I think the new 16" MBP would be ideal for me but Im hoping to find an alternative for a lower price.

I don't mind using a 13" laptop for my main machine, especially if I can add a monitor later on. I just want to make sure that the MBP I purchase will adequately perform for editing still photos with the aforementioned software.

Any suggestions you can make would be greatly appreciated and I thank you for your time and expertise.

Best to you and take care!

Rick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
First your 2013 will run Big Sur. BUT you are behind just a few versions! Check out this link for how you can upgrade your OS to Big Sur: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201475
Keep in mind you will be loosing the use of any 32-bit apps you currently use.