Yosemite auto-downloaded and i want to erase it

Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Yosemite hasn't installed yet but is asking me for a restart of my computer i want to erase it before it does , where can i find the log files.
I looked in Library/updates but i don't actually know wich one is.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,924
Reaction score
558
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
I'm a little confused - what log files are you looking for? How does this connect to you wanting to erase your HD/Yosemite installer?
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
16,832
Reaction score
637
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 2008 MacBook Pro 10.11, 8 GB mem, iPhone 12 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Big Sur
Also, if it is asking you to restart the computer are you sure it hasn't installed. I don't think the Yosemite installer asks for a restart until the installer has run through part of the installation process.
 
OP
P
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I'm a little confused - what log files are you looking for? How does this connect to you wanting to erase your HD/Yosemite installer?

Ok, so my computer is asking for a restart currently running 10.9.4 everyday it asks for an update to yosemite today it just said restart to complete update im guessing ts installed but not yet running. Is there a way to erase it?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Ok, so my computer is asking for a restart currently running 10.9.4 everyday it asks for an update to yosemite today it just said restart to complete update im guessing ts installed but not yet running. Is there a way to erase it?

No, it's already installed. Why don't you give it a try for awhile and then if you don't like it, you can restore Mavericks from your Time Machine backup.
 
OP
P
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
No, it's already installed. Why don't you give it a try for awhile and then if you don't like it, you can restore Mavericks from your Time Machine backup.

The thing is that a lot of software that i use for work does not work with it. Thanks for the answer!
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I'm surprised that a lot of your software that you use for work does not work with Yosemite but does work with Mavericks. I haven't run into any major application that I use which does not run in Yosemite that ran in Mavericks. Perhaps you're running some specialized software?
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top