Xcode performance

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac mini M2 8GB, Sonoma 14.1.2
Hey all...

New Mac owner. Well...new to me anyway. It's a 2014 Mac Mini running Monterey. This is my first Mac, and I've been very impressed with how well it performs despite being 8 years old - it's an i5 2-core w/16mb of memory and a 1TB HD. I thought the big test of whether this was going to be powerful enough for my needs was the 3D CAD software I run, but that runs just fine.

However, Xcode is another story entirely. Runs like a pig. Almost unusable. Even when I set it to run code manually (I'm new to Swift so I'm just doing Playground coding right now) it slows to a crawl.

My question is this. The shop where I bought this can install (relatively inexpensively) a 512GB SSD to replace this slow HD. I'm thinking this will NOT impact the performance I'm seeing in Xcode as I'm assuming the performance issue is this old i5 2-core processor, not disk access. If I'm right, I'll just have to put off Xcode development until next year when I plan on buying a new Mini running Apple silicon, but thought I'd ask here about this. TBH I was shocked at how horrible Xcode runs. I'm an old Python programmer and using even a robust IDE doing Python development can be done on pretty lame hardware!! :)

Thanks!

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
The Playground is a VERY resource heavy tool since it's actively compiling your code to generate the output. It's a dog on my 2019 MBP with a 8-core i9 at 2.3Ghz. My Mac Studio (M1 Max) has absolutely no issues with it.

And you are right, the harddrive (HDD or SSD) isn't the bottleneck, it's the CPU first and 16MB of memory second.

If you were to write your code and then compile and run, it'll be faster without having to do a live preview of it.

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs