Windows 7 on Macbook Pro

Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I was wondering if installing Windows 7 on a macbook pro had any side effects when running OS X side? Does it make the computer any slower or perform worse than if it was an OS X only machine?
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
None whatsoever.

Just be sure to print the guidelines in Bootcamp Assistant if you go this way, and download drivers and burn to a CD.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
6,879
Reaction score
191
Points
63
Location
Tucson, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Just takes up drive space. That's all.

Besides printing the Bootcamp Assistant guidelines.. read them thoroughly.
 
OP
N
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Do I need a special copy of Win 7, or will the Best Buy bought copy work? I have a CD of Win 7 that I was gonna install on a PC that has hardware problems. I am trashing that PC so I have the Win 7 CD that was never used.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
4,695
Reaction score
73
Points
48
Location
houston texas
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
Just be aware that backing up wirelessly was taken away from Windows Home 7 that was available in Vista Home now you either need a third party software or purchase Professional or Ultimate.
 
OP
N
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Just be aware that backing up wirelessly was taken away from Windows Home 7 that was available in Vista Home now you either need a third party software or purchase Professional or Ultimate.

What do you mean backing up wirelessly?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
A hard drive connected to your router or something like the Time Capsule.
 
OP
N
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Ah I never used that feature in windows anyway. And besides even on both of my Mac's I get nothing but "Sparce Bundle" errors when trying to backup using time machine.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
Ah I never used that feature in windows anyway. And besides even on both of my Mac's I get nothing but "Sparce Bundle" errors when trying to backup using time machine.

There's an easy fix for that -- reformat the TM drive and let it make new backups.
 
OP
N
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
67
Reaction score
0
Points
6
There's an easy fix for that -- reformat the TM drive and let it make new backups.

Im not using TM. I have ATT UVerse that comes with a wireless router. I didn't want to pay for a feature I really don't need (Router), and TM is a bit on the pricey side for a 2TB drive.

I bought a Seagate Go Flex Home 2TB networked HDD for about $150. At first TM backups worked great, just like they were supposed to. But then about a week into it I started getting the search bundle error. I use the NAS drive for movie storage so I can't really reformat and lose everything. Right now I am using an old 3.5 internal HDD in a BlacX box as the backup drive.

So will any commercially bought copy of Windows 7 work or do I need Windows 7 for Mac software?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
258
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Seattle
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 MBP 15" I7 2.3 Ghz 16 GB Ram 500 GB SSD Retina
Any commercially bought copy of Win 7 will work. I use Windows 7 on mine but not bootcamp. I don't want to reboot all the time just to use Windows. I don't play games so I just use Parallels which works great for me. No re-boot needed thank you.

Pat
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
258
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Seattle
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 MBP 15" I7 2.3 Ghz 16 GB Ram 500 GB SSD Retina
Boot camp allows you to use all of the resources of the host computer. For instance memory. It's useful if you are a gamer. I am not a gamer and thus to boot out of the Apple operating system does not have any advantage and actually is a disadvantage. With Parallels and other software solutions you can also share files easily between the Apple Operating system and windows. With Bootcamp it's more difficult. With Parallels you can adjust how much memory you need based on the needs of your windows computing.

You can go to this website and get additional data.
http://www.parallels.com/

Pat
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
1,229
Reaction score
75
Points
48
Your Mac's Specs
2.6GHz Core i7 15" MacBook Pro - 8GB DDR3 SDRAM - 750GB 7200 RPM HDD - GeForce 650M GT 1GB VRAM
The only thing I would say to be wary of is Spotlight performance if you have NTFS-3G installed. If you format your Windows partition as NTFS and have NTFS-3G on your Mac, Spotlight will run nonstop searching that thing and writing its little Spotlight indexing files to it. And it will keep doing it, even after it's finished searching the whole thing. This leads to increased noise from your hard drive and decreased battery life. The simplest workaround for this is to go into the Privacy tab of your Spotlight system preference pane and add your Boot Camp partition to the list of items Spotlight shouldn't search.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top