What are my HD webcam options for my docked MacBook Air?

Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
I'm using my MacBook Air as a desktop and have it docked and hooked up to a 24" monitor, Bluetooth keyboard & trackpad, etc. My only problem now is that I need an HD webcam to FaceTime with.

I bought a Logitech C920 and while it works, the picture quality isn't the best, it sometimes makes me tweak like Max Headroom and the mic echos.

Are there any recommendations?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

I have to ask.... how come you're not using the HD Facetime camera of your MacBook Air instead of an external webcam? I realize you would probably like to do Facetime or Skype on the 24" monitor but wouldn't it be better to use your 13" MacBook Air for that?
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

I have to ask.... how come you're not using the HD Facetime camera of your MacBook Air instead of an external webcam? I realize you would probably like to do Facetime or Skype on the 24" monitor but wouldn't it be better to use your 13" MacBook Air for that?

I'm docking the computer and want to use external devices. Using the internal camera defeats the purpose of docking the computer.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,830
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I'm docking the computer and want to use external devices. Using the internal camera defeats the purpose of docking the computer.

OK, I just "assumed" you would want to do FaceTime on the HD camera available with your MacBook Air. Take a look at this review of compatible web cams for the Mac.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
I'm docking the computer and want to use external devices. Using the internal camera defeats the purpose of docking the computer.

When you say "docking". Are you closing the MacBook Pro's display…and using it in "clamshell" mode?

Also…are you actually using a laptop computer docking station…or are you simply plugging your external devices directly into the MacBook Pro's ports?

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
OK, I just "assumed" you would want to do FaceTime on the HD camera available with your MacBook Air. Take a look at this review of compatible web cams for the Mac.

That list includes the C920 which I have and it doesn't work properly.

When you say "docking". Are you closing the MacBook Pro's display…and using it in "clamshell" mode?

Also…are you actually using a laptop computer docking station…or are you simply plugging your external devices directly into the MacBook Pro's ports?

- Nick

Yes, I'm docking it in a LandingZone 2.0 Pro dock with the display closed. I'm using a Samsung 24" HD display and need an HD webcam to sit atop of it.
 
Last edited:

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Yes, I'm docking it in a LandingZone 2.0 Pro dock with the display closed.

Thanks for the info. Having the MacBook Pro's display closed helps to explain why you would want/need an external webcam with your 24" external display.

Many times when folks use an external display with a MacBook Pro…they use both displays in extended desktop mode…to have the extra screen real estate. And if this was the case…using the MacBook Pro's webcam would be possible.

The C920 Logitech webcam you mentioned (according to the Logitech website)…doesn't list it as Mac/OS X compatible. I remember just a couple years ago…Logitech did have a higher end webcam that was compatible with Mac's (I purchased a couple of them)…but I forget the model number…and it doesn't seem to be on the Logitech website

The only Logitech webcam at Logictech.com that seems to be Mac compatible out of the box is the C615:

HD Webcam C615

But even this one only says OS X 10.5-10.6.x. So it may or may not be fully compatible with newer OS X versions.

- Nick

p.s. Actually I just found it. It was the previous model to the C920…the C910. The C910 was Mac compatible. Here it is listed at Newegg.com…but out of stock. So maybe if you search the internet (or eBay) you can still find one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16826104385
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
I'm looking for a C930e locally now as it seems to be Mac compatible. I may just have to order it.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
I'm looking for a C930e locally now as it seems to be Mac compatible. I may just have to order it.

Is this an older model? If it's a new/current model…I couldn't find it at Logitech.com.

Just curious,

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
Is this an older model? If it's a new/current model…I couldn't find it at Logitech.com.

Just curious,

- Nick

For some reason they only put it in the "Business" section of their website.

I've got one on it's way. We'll see how it works Tuesday.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
For some reason they only put it in the "Business" section of their website.

I've got one on it's way. We'll see how it works Tuesday.

Ahh...I see. At $129...a bit more expensive as well.:(

Seems to me it would be a lot less expensive to just use the MacBook Air's builtin webcam. There really is no issue leaving the MacBook Air's display open while docked. Extra screen real estate...and a "free" webcam.:)

I have an Apple 30" external display hooked up to my 17" MacBook Pro (external mouse, external keyboard, external speakers, etc.)...and this is exactly the way I use it.:)

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
Ahh...I see. At $129...a bit more expensive as well.:(

Seems to me it would be a lot less expensive to just use the MacBook Air's builtin webcam. There really is no issue leaving the MacBook Air's display open while docked. Extra screen real estate...and a "free" webcam.:)

I have an Apple 30" external display hooked up to my 17" MacBook Pro (external mouse, external keyboard, external speakers, etc.)...and this is exactly the way I use it.:)

- Nick

I'm doing that now as I FaceTime nightly but I really want to clean up my desk. I'm willing to pay to clean up the way that it looks. Plus, I'd like a better quality audio and video from my end.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
Better audio and video quality than the FaceTime camera? I doubt that $129 camera will be any better. What's your connection speed?
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
On WiFi I'm getting 10Mbps down and 6Mbps up. The house gets 58Mbps down but it doesn't make it to my MBA.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
On WiFi I'm getting 10Mbps down and 6Mbps up. The house gets 58Mbps down but it doesn't make it to my MBA.

Probably should start a second thread. Different topic.

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
OK, I got my Logitech C930e and it works great. Awesome quality on Skype, less so on FaceTime, but still excellent. Now I can leave my MBA closed on the dock. :D

IMG_1827.JPG
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Awesome...thanks for the update.:) Great to hear that Logitech Webcam worked well with a Mac (sometimes they don't). Too bad about the $129 price though.;)

- Nick
 
OP
A
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Houston, TX
Your Mac's Specs
2013 MacBook Air 13" on Yosemite - iPhone 6 - Apple TV
I actually got it for $95 on Amazon, but yes, it's still a lot to pay for a webcam. I'm just glad it works.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
$95 sounds much better!:)

- Nick
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Use Webcam Settings app to control C920 webcam

I'm using my MacBook Air as a desktop and have it docked and hooked up to a 24" monitor, Bluetooth keyboard & trackpad, etc. My only problem now is that I need an HD webcam to FaceTime with.

I bought a Logitech C920 and while it works, the picture quality isn't the best, it sometimes makes me tweak like Max Headroom and the mic echos.

Are there any recommendations?

Go to the App Store and purchase "Webcam Settings". It is very inexpensive and gives you full control of all features of your Logitech C920. You can control the exposure, contrast, white balance, saturation, tilt, pan, zoom ... etc.

I use it on a weekly broadcast segment on the TWIT.TV program Ham Nation and it works great.

73

Dale - K0HYD
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top