Well, I Got A Virus. Please Help!

Reaction score
For the first time ever, my MacBook Pro is infected. I don't know if it was from a bundle download or from a remote Windows set up but I have what appears to be an "osascript wants to control your browser" malware/virus. I have not clicked either choice when that pop up window appears.

I am not very tech savvy.
I tried following some directions online but it's not working.

Can anyone please tell me the easiest way to go?
I'm hesitant to download/buy anything online because it will prompt me for my password and I would think entering any passwords right now is not the thing to do??? But again, I don't have any idea what I'm talking about so any guidance would help!

Thank you,
Lisa

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4K iMac. Monterey. 8GB RAM. Crucial 500GB external SSD
try installing and running malwarebytes free for mac. if you can take a screen shot and post what you see than can be helpful... command shift 3 keys at the same time to take a screen shot. it's smart to not enter passwords right now if asked.

what browser are you using, safari? firefox? chrome?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16" 2023 (M3 Pro), iPhone 15 Pro, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMinis (multiple)
Get DetectX Swift from here: https://sqwarq.com/detectx/. Install and run it. That should find the culprit for you. If not, come back and we can recommend something more aggressive.

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.