Wait for Leopard?

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a college student and am in the market for a Mac Book Pro. I just got back from the Apple store and had all my questions answered. I found out about Leopard (at least more than what I knew) and that it is coming out in October. My dilemma is, should i wait for it to be installed already on the Pro and get the whole laptop in October, or should I just get the laptop in June and then wait to see how Leopard is and buy it at a student discount price and install it myself? My dad and I are kind of butting heads on this subject. He says to wait and i say i can get it now and install it later. He thinks it wont work as well if i buy just leopard in octorber and the pro now. I'm impatient, i know, but i have the money now and Tiger works amazingly well. The Pro's are ready for 64-bit, so if i install Leopard seperately in october, i shouldnt have any problems, right?

PS: I DO plan on waiting for WWDC on June 11th bc hopefully the new MBP will be out!

Please, give me your opinions, guys.

Thanks a lot!

Reaction score
My dad . . . thinks it wont work as well if i buy just leopard in octorber and the pro now.
Sure, it will. Your dad might be recalling problems he had with Windows installs, but the Mac OS is vastly different. You can't translate Windows' problems to the Mac any more than you can translate a DC-3's propeller problems to a 747.

Waiting for Steve Jobs' speech is a good idea, in case he announces any MacBook Pro updates.

If you're new to the Mac, buying it in June would be best. That way, it will be second nature by the start of the school year. If you wait, you'll be busy enough without having to unlearn Windows, as well.

OP
Stang68
Reaction score
Wow...those are all great points. I'll be sure to bring those up haha thanks a lot.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.2ghz SR!
Wow...those are all great points. I'll be sure to bring those up haha thanks a lot.