• The forum rules at Mac-Forums (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

    Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.
  • Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

Video Capture hardware software question.

Joined
Jun 4, 2014
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Hi everybody. I will soon be in the process of transferring all my Hi8/ VHS home movies to my imac. I have seen many capture devices on the market and wanted to get all your opinions on which ones work the best.
They will be connected via composite audio and Svideo from my camcorder and SVHS.


Imac is a 2017 27" 3.8 2TB.

Thx
PG
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
15,133
Reaction score
316
Points
83
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 2008 MacBook Pro 10.11, 8 GB mem, iPhone XS, 2015 iMac 16 GB 10.15.5 beta
Have to agree with Charlie. Unless you are going to be doing a lot of tis and want to spend more money that's probably your best bet.

If you look at siime ofr the cheaper usb devices make sure the vendor has a good return policy. I bought one off of Amazon that was supposed to be Mac compatable. When I got the thing and tried to make it work it was a no go from the start. After multiple reinstalls and trying every trick I knoew zi contacted tech support via email.

Tech support's response, reminiscent of a bad translation of Chinese to English, was to reinstall the software Under OS 10.6. Sorry, been there done that before I contacted you. Their next response IIRC was to use a Windoows box. The thing was cheap so it wasn't worth the hassle of a return.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
434
Reaction score
8
Points
18
Location
Toronto
Your Mac's Specs
Retina MBP 15" 2.6 1TB ssd/16gig ram /30" dell 3008. and bunch of other mac/apple stuff
Just as an aside, if you or any pals have a camcorder that allows connection from a vcr and has a say FireWire out you have all you need to transfer. I transferred a bunch of old vcr tapes this way. Those older camcorders are near worthless these days.
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
15,133
Reaction score
316
Points
83
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 2008 MacBook Pro 10.11, 8 GB mem, iPhone XS, 2015 iMac 16 GB 10.15.5 beta
Good point. I didn't think of that as an option.

Some of the older TiVo units could also be used if anyone has one of those lying around. I know it worked with the Series 2 units and probably works with later ones as well. The process was time consuming, and somewhat convoluted, but it did work. The picture quality wasn't noticeably worse than the source video tape IIRC.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
434
Reaction score
8
Points
18
Location
Toronto
Your Mac's Specs
Retina MBP 15" 2.6 1TB ssd/16gig ram /30" dell 3008. and bunch of other mac/apple stuff
It’s funny, I rarely see this method mentioned anywhere, but those things are dime a dozen now in thrift shops. (At least here anyway)

The old days I had a miro card capture in my beige G3 and I used it a ton. The good old days of desktops and many useful internal slots :)
 
Top