• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

upgrade to Mojave

Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
is this something I need to do or be concerned about.

I would say this statement of theirs should answer your question:
Errors in the structure of the system files are not uncommon and can have disastrous consequences if they're not repaired.
In simple terms = run the verification!! Hopefully everything will be intact and all okay.

My guess is that procedure would be similar to running Disk Utility.app verification or first aid option. Ie: it's going to fix any potholes before doing any repaving.



- Patrick
======
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
thnx patrick...did disk utility first aid....all OK...
wasn't sure what you means by .... run the verification!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
thanks Patrick about onyx....I really don't think have any problems, and don't really understand ALL that will be happening in background and what changes will occur.
just am maybe being a little bit paranoid about make upgrade to Mojave.
think I will just go for it...
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
oh ok.... have already begun upgrade to mojave.... all prepared for big changes! lol lol
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
well its done. cannot see too much difference yet...tho have not gone hunting yet.
thank you all for your help.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Congrats!!! And don't forget to keep your backups relatively current.

Assuming of course, you have personal data and files worth saving.


- Patrick
======
 

IWT


Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
6,571
Reaction score
237
Points
63
Location
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 5K Retina 27", August 2019, 3.6GHz Intel Core i9, Memory 32GB, 2TB SSD, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
well its done. cannot see too much difference yet...tho have not gone hunting yet.
thank you all for your help.
You see - I knew you could do it!

Now, you'll have to alter the info under your Avatar so that we all remember you are on macOS Mojave.

A further thing to consider - sorry:) Part of the reason for creating a SuperDuper! Backup was just in case there was a problem or you hated it and wanted to go back to macOS Sierra.

Sorry to say this, but best practice would suggest that you keep the SD! EHD and set it aside for a while. Then get a new EHD and make a fresh BU of your new system. This is partly for the reason I mentioned above (going back) and also because behind the scenes there has been a big change.

In Sierra, your files on the Mac were formatted Mac OS X Extended (Journaled). Now, with Mojave, all your data has been converted to Apple File System (APFS). This is good because it makes it quicker and easier to move or copy large files.

The downside for you - sorry again - is that for SD! backups, the EHD should ideally be formatted APFS as well, although the Developer does say that it will work with Mac OS X Extended (Journaled); but "APFS is encouraged".

However, just to confuse you:):), Time Machine backups MUST be on to an EHD formatted Mac OS X Extended (Journaled).

In other words, Cloned BUs like SuperDuper! and Carbon Copy Cloner, ideally, need an EHD formatted APFS whilst Time Machine BUs need an EHD formatted Mac OS X Extended (Journaled).

There's always something new to do! Life can be awkward!

Ian
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Thanks Ian, for the informative summary.

So easy to forget some of the basic details needed these days. :Smirk:



- Patrick
======
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
Underneath the NAME is FORMAT. Choose “Mac OS X Extended (Journaled)”. Then click “Erase”. (We are choosing this format because you are on Sierra).
See images below:
[Post #52]


I just wanted to mention that for some strange reason, Apple seems to like hiding the Partition Scheme when formatting and/or erasing a drive.
And especially the fact that the GUID Partition Table (Partition Scheme) is usually required with OS X 10.4 or later.

Maybe, for some reason Disk Utility manages to pick the right one in the background but I never trust such actions.

See more details here:
How to Format a Drive with GUID for macOS High Sierra, Mojave Installation
How to Format a Drive with GUID for macOS High Sierra, Mojave Installation - The Mac Observer

and
Apple Partition Types: How and When to Use Them
Understanding partition schemes for your Mac

Apple Partition Types: How and When to Use Them

I just thought I should mention these facts, and a very critical part of the disc formatting/erasing for recent MacOS X use. Or at least check on the Scheme type partition map that it is the correct one.



- Patrick
======
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
thanks Ian,
all is working well and I am enjoying learning and discovering Mojave. FYI....the only reason I would have needed to go back to SIERRA is if my software would not install. I have one to try but otherwise, thing I'm fine. having fun exploring!!!

hmmmm so you say I should format another EXD to apfs for any cloning I will do on Mojave and leave the other one I created for Sierra alone.
my EXD for TM backups already formatted OS extended.... so ok there.

In all probability I won't use cloner very often...my data is usually copied over to EXD every few months...just in case!!

- - - Updated - - -

Patrick...I have no idea about what you are discussing about partitions... I understand the basics of partitioning but have never done nor dealt with it at all.
will look at the links and see if info helps me understand.
thnx
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
I do have another question.... in settings I keep getting update request for Catalina...which I do not ever want to upgrade to that.
as it will not support 4 of apps I use. so how can I turn that OFF so I wont accidentally click on it.
 

IWT


Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
6,571
Reaction score
237
Points
63
Location
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 5K Retina 27", August 2019, 3.6GHz Intel Core i9, Memory 32GB, 2TB SSD, macOS Mojave 10.14.6
@lori,
all is working well and I am enjoying learning and discovering Mojave. FYI....the only reason I would have needed to go back to SIERRA is if my software would not install. I have one to try but otherwise, thing I'm fine. having fun exploring!!!
Fine. No problem.

hmmmm so you say I should format another EXD to apfs for any cloning I will do on Mojave and leave the other one I created for Sierra alone.
Yes. If you want to create a clone of macOS Mojave.

my EXD for TM backups already formatted OS extended.... so ok there.
Yes. Fine.

In all probability I won't use cloner very often...my data is usually copied over to EXD every few months...just in case!!
Again, fine.

To summarise: Keep Mojave Clone for a while - just in case. TM backups regularly, say Automatically - nothing to think about then:) (System Preferences > Time Machine > Click on Automatic Backups) - only if you want to; but you'll need to connect your TM EHD to your MBP on a regular basis.

And you can forget cloned backups provided your TM backups are frequent or automatic. In time, you might want to start over with SD! following the steps in post #68 - ie Erase the Sierra EHD, format as APFS, and clone your Mojave HD.

Anyway, for the present, you seem happy enough. Well done.

Oh - and you can forget the proddings to Upgrade to macOS Catalina. That's for another time..... if ever:)

Ian
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
many thnx ian
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
13,238
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
I do have another question.... in settings I keep getting update request for Catalina...which I do not ever want to upgrade to that.

This is a good time to mention the benefit of a search engine and using your preferred browser:

For such questions, just do a search on your question, ie: 'How to stop the Catalina update reminder'
You should get lots of hits and suggestions:
how to stop update request for Catalina - Google Search

If you come across some suggesting terminal, don't get too scared off, but do copy the text command they provide, do not type it yourself in case you make a mistake, and paste it into Terminal. You'll find the Terminal.app in your utilities folder.

It's really poor and inexcusable that Apple doesn't provide an option and easier method to disable its insistent upgrade nagging!!! It can be a real PITA and is completely overzealous!!!

Especially sometimes when it pokes its ugly head up suggesting I do so on my iMac that can't even run Mojave for gosh sakes!!! Stupid even... But even stupider if they think such suggestions are going to get me to buy a new Mac!!!


- Patrick
======
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
713
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
BC Canada
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2017 running Mojave, iPhone 7, iPad 6th generation
thnx...patrick I did see some help but when they suggested going into 'terminal' I must say was little intimidated...so did nothing.
so I will have to be very careful.... I think over time they will stop the pop ups..... I hope.

I would only hope they wont upgrade automatically...... as happened to me on Windows when win10 came out...after so many prompts to update and I chose not to...
wham....I had win10 and did not want it.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,059
Reaction score
156
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
Apple has never done that. You have to accept the license and authorize the installation. Just ignore the suggestions to upgrade. I got that on an iMac for a while, eventually it gave up and stopped nagging me.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,484
Reaction score
760
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
Lori:

It's real easy to do:

Open your Terminal app which you can find in Utilities.

When the Terminal opens, copy below and paste it into the terminal and then press enter.


sudo softwareupdate --ignore "macOS Catalina"

After doing that, close the terminal.

You can't mess it up because if you make a mistake, the terminal will ignore or reject what you entered.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,059
Reaction score
156
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
You left out that after entering that command, she will be prompted to enter her password, and that as she types it in, it will NOT appear. Just enter it, press Return and it will execute.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,484
Reaction score
760
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
You left out that after entering that command, she will be prompted to enter her password, and that as she types it in, it will NOT appear. Just enter it, press Return and it will execute.
Thanks Jake. It's been awhile since I ran that command. It definitely works to shut down the Catalina update nag.
 
Top