Two, two, two of all things

Joined
Dec 7, 2014
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Waukesha WI
Your Mac's Specs
Retina 5K, 27" ; 3.5GHz i5; late 2014, iPhone 6+, iPad2, iPod60
After transferring data to new iMac i find I have doubled all of my applications. i.e. Image Capture has two from which to pick. I have more storage than I will ever need so not a problem but it is puzzling
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
9,962
Reaction score
1,236
Points
113
Location
The Republic of Neptune
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
After transferring data to new iMac i find I have doubled all of my applications. i.e. Image Capture has two from which to pick. I have more storage than I will ever need so not a problem but it is puzzling

It's not puzzling at all. You copied all your apps off the backup to your new iMac, which had those apps already as part of the default installation. Just delete the older of the duplicates.
 
OP
Driller
Joined
Dec 7, 2014
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Waukesha WI
Your Mac's Specs
Retina 5K, 27" ; 3.5GHz i5; late 2014, iPhone 6+, iPad2, iPod60
Well, even curiouser.....
I have another thread going about my SD card slot not responding. So I attempted to delete the file (Image Capture) I thought to be older. Got an error message saying it was necessary for iMac. So I tried deleting its twin. Password was asked and it was deleted. Then out of the clear blue background up popped the SD card I had in place. One blocking the other?
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
9,962
Reaction score
1,236
Points
113
Location
The Republic of Neptune
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
Well, even curiouser.....
I have another thread going about my SD card slot not responding. So I attempted to delete the file (Image Capture) I thought to be older. Got an error message saying it was necessary for iMac. So I tried deleting its twin. Password was asked and it was deleted. Then out of the clear blue background up popped the SD card I had in place. One blocking the other?

BINGO! The older one I assume was from an older install of OS X and thus wouldn't run. Go through your duplicates carefully. Right-click and "Get Info" on them and examine the version numbers to be sure you are eliminating the older one. Maybe even test-run the copy you want to keep to be sure it's the right one.
 
OP
Driller
Joined
Dec 7, 2014
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Waukesha WI
Your Mac's Specs
Retina 5K, 27" ; 3.5GHz i5; late 2014, iPhone 6+, iPad2, iPod60
All well and dandy as some of the duplicates need to be gone as I keep getting error messages for iPhoto as having two running or one already open.

Problem is I have the new wireless mouse. I have not yet found the secret for the "right click". It just clicks
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Well, until you figure it out, control-click=right-click.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top