Time Machine

Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Since upgrading to Yosemite my time machine/time capsule will not preform backups and previous backups are not displayed with I enter time machine.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
2,963
Reaction score
120
Points
63
Location
Belgium
Your Mac's Specs
iPad Pro 12.9 latest iOS
Have you also installed the updated 10.10.1 ?
Open the logfile ( Console.app ) , launch a Time Machine backup and watch the entries in the logfile. What do they indicate ?
Search ( or filter ) for log entries that start with " com.apple.backupd " ( without the quotes )

Cheers ... McBie
 
OP
K
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Installed 10.10.1. Did a reset of Time Machine. Been to Genius Bar at Apple Store. Will try console to see what is going on and post with results
 
OP
K
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Got console info but I have no idea what it means. Got message failed to mount disk image and that backup failed with error 21.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
2,963
Reaction score
120
Points
63
Location
Belgium
Your Mac's Specs
iPad Pro 12.9 latest iOS
You can take a screen shot of the relevant entries from the logfile and post that here.
We can all have a look and see if we can help.

Cheers ... McBie
 
OP
K
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Patience please. I can get screen shot but how do I "paste" into reply box in Forum?
 

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
16,815
Reaction score
629
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 2008 MacBook Pro 10.11, 8 GB mem, iPhone 12 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Big Sur
I have a feeling there are problems that there are problems that the sparse bundle image file Time Machine uses to store backups on a network drive. Try the following:

1. Look on your Time Capsule and find the sparse bundle file Time Machine is using (probably has the name of your computer).
2. Double-click the sparse bundle to open it. Don't open it in Time Machine.
3. If what appears to be a new drive with the name of the sparse bundle appears on the desktop Launch Disk Utility, select that drive and verify. Repair the drive if necessary.

After this is complete close Disk Utility and eject the drive from the desktop. Now try running a backup and let us know the result.
 
OP
K
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Results in "Unable to attach. (no mountable file systems)" Also, sparse bundle file does not open when I double click on it and size shows ---. my airport time capsule listed as "shared" in Finder.
 
Last edited:

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top