Time Machine error and-or Shared in Finder

Reaction score
I'm not a Mac expert but I do understand computers so I'm going to do my best.

I have a WD MyBookLive device that I'm trying to get working with on a MBP with Lion. I once had this working with SnowLep, and had an issue that caused two shared devices named MyBookLive and MyBookLive-backup listed. I can not access either one and I can log into the web control panel of the WD device so I do know the passwords.

Each time I try to setup Time Machine it will only see the -backup setting and it will not accept the password I have check and reset in the WD device. I have just deleted the file/share on the WD device that from the time stamps is what TM has been trying to complete.

I can not deleted/drag/removed the shared device names, TM still sees the -backup device and I have no idea how where to fix. I will also let you know that I formatted and reloaded the MBP when Lion came out and the issue came back so I assume it might be with the WD device but I need help.

Thanks

OP
S
Reaction score
NO!! I updated in the last few weeks and didn't check again. It is updating as I type this so I'll reply in a few.

OP
S
Reaction score
Ok, I updated the the firmware listed and checked by the device.

In TM, I still only show the -backup shared device that I can not do anything with. The shared device without this, I'm able to view my other shares on the WD drive.

My answer is to find a way to delete this stuck/bad device but so far so good. What might be next?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
Page 129 in your setup manual says if you reset (small button on the back using a paper clip)with the power on it defaults the password to none and default ip without losing your files.

OP
S
Reaction score