• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

System Resources?? How much are being used??

Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
73
Reaction score
3
Points
8
I am wondering how I can see how much system resources are being used at any given moment. How much RAM and how much CPU.

Can someone tell me how to see this??
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
638
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
UK, London
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch Macbook Pro Retina, 2.7ghz, 128gb SSD
Go to your applications folder.
Go in the Utilities Folder
Open up an app called Activity Monitor
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
4,560
Reaction score
366
Points
83
Location
St. Somewhere
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz, 256 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD, 8 GB RAM
There is an EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT (can you tell I like it? :D ) application called MenuMeters, which posts a variety of real time updated meters in your Menu bar. You can monitor CPU, memory, disk, internet, etc. I couldn't live without it, and because is all shows up on your menu bar, it is always there, always visible, and takes up no additional screen "real estate".

Get MenuMeters here:

http://www.ragingmenace.com/software/menumeters

Best of all, Menu Meters is open source freeware, so it won't cost you a penny. Enjoy!
 
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
926
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Location
Ontario, Canada.
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook(W) 2GHz, 80GB HD, 1G RAM, Windows XP
wow, that is really handy.
thanks mac57 :)
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
91
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Oh, sweet. I'm really loving that app mac57. Quick question, what's a thermometer?

Edit: Prehaps that sounded stupid. How is it finding out my temp? My old G3 actually has a gauge or something?
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
4,560
Reaction score
366
Points
83
Location
St. Somewhere
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz, 256 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD, 8 GB RAM
I am not a G3 expert, but most modern Macs have a variety of thermal sensors built right into the system. My G5 has a small army of them - CPU, GPU, connecting areas... it goes on and on. Can any current G3 owners comment on whether the G3-class machines were also so equipped?

So, since these are usually always present, apps like MenuMeters can simply read and display the results.
 
Top