• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

sutting down when sleeping ( mca error report)

Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi
Hope someone can help
Fairly new to macs
When my mac is sleeping it wants to restart and when it does it comes with following error report

**MCA error report***
CPU machine check architecture error dump(cpu:Intel(r) core i5-7400 cpu@3.00ghz CPUID: 0x906E90
CATERR detected ! no mca data found

Can someone help
Thanks in advance
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,430
Reaction score
754
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
Welcome to our forums.

We really need some specs on your Mac: Year and model, version of macOS you're running.

In the meantime, we suggest you try to reset the SMC (System Management Controller).

Follow Apple's Instructions here:

How to reset the SMC of your Mac - Apple Support
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,430
Reaction score
754
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
Okay, thanks for the specs. Don't forget to try the SMC reset as that controls sleep and power settings. Real easy to do on an iMac - just follow Apple's directions. And let us know if that helps.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2013
Messages
4,245
Reaction score
202
Points
63
Location
Ohio (USA)
Your Mac's Specs
2020 13" MBPro, 2010 MacPro, 11”‘ iPad Pro, iPhone Xs Max
There are a whole bunch of posts on the internet about this error. This is what I found when I searched for it:

caterr detected mac at DuckDuckGo

Also here is a really detailed blog on what that error means: Debug of Intel CATERR - Blog

From what I am reading it might be a logicboard issue coming from the intel CPU.

Just some troubleshooting you can try:

1. Start in Safe Mode and see if it happens - if not it could be software related. How to Start Your Mac in Safe Mode: 8 Steps (with Pictures)

2. Create a new account and if that fixes it then software is probably the issue.

3. Reset the SMC and NVRAM - can’t hurt and might help. Reset NVRAM or PRAM on your Mac - Apple Support



Lisa
 
Top