Strip intel code from Leopard?

Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G4 MDD 1.5 GHZ (OC) 1.25 GB Ubuntu and Leopard INTEL SUCK IT!!
Is there a program that can remove the intel code from the OS part of leopard? I have been using Trimthefat to optimize my programs, but it would better if I could go further and get rid of that useless intel code.
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Uh...no. This removes languages, not architectures.

Yes, Monolingual will remove architectures. It will definitely remove PPC code from Intel machines, not just languages, although languages is what it is known for.

I do not know if it can be used to strip out Intel code from a PPC machine since I've never had a PPC machine to test it.

However, I do not recommend it on Intel machines quite yet. Never know when you'll run into an app you want that needs that code. And stripping other languages can cause issues with some apps.

If it will remove the Intel code from a PPC, kind of doubt there are any ramifications there, since you'll not be able to run any Intel only apps to begin with.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,943
Reaction score
578
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
However, I do not recommend it on Intel machines quite yet. Never know when you'll run into an app you want that needs that code. And stripping other languages can cause issues with some apps.
Agreed. For instance, removing PPC code from Office 2008 causes problems when you want to update it. I did this a long time ago and Office refused to update. Only after searching for solutions did I find out that Monolingual's removal of some files caused this problem.

If you read the FAQ, it explains why this is the case. It also notes that it can cause havoc with Adobe applications as well. It lists some ways to "protect" Adobe applications and Office 2008 but you're probably better off just leaving things as they are.
 
C

chas_m

Guest
Obviously Dreamcast270Mhz has irrational "issues" with Intel-based Macs, but he's going to feel awfully dumb when it comes time to replace his computer and he then has to re-install Every. Single. Program. He. Owns ...
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
481
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, Power Mac G4, iMac G3, iPhone 3GS
I've only ever done this once myself. On a G3 iMac. It saved me a grand total of about 115MB from all of Tiger and my installed apps. However, I removed over 4GB of localization-related files!

You won't "optimize" a single thing from removing architectures or localizations, actually, since only what's needed is loaded from disk.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
675
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
Scotland, UK
Your Mac's Specs
nMP 6-core/32Gb/D700/512Gb: rMBP 15" 2.3GHz/16Gb/512Gb: iPhone 6 128Gb: iPad Air 2 128Gb: NEC PA322U
Obviously Dreamcast270Mhz has irrational "issues" with Intel-based Macs, but he's going to feel awfully dumb when it comes time to replace his computer and he then has to re-install Every. Single. Program. He. Owns ...

Looking at his sig, yeah I'd agree... :D

On the other hand, I think Macs were cooler (okay the ran hotter LOL) when they had IBM or Motorola chips powering them. Now with Intel in everyone they are just PCs really, it's just not the same anymore.

I can't see any change back to RISC processors anytime soon though as the ability to run Windows is probably a big selling point to new users. Suppose it would annoy developers even more too causing further damage to OS X support.
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I have a friend (and I use that term loosely) who hates Intel Macs. Says the G3 and G4 are Superior. I tell him 2.5-3 hours to convert a video here for burning on my 2.1Ghz iMac G5, 3.5-4+ hours on my 1.5Ghz G4 and 22-25 minutes on the Intel C2D Mini. He says so what, the G4 is better even if it takes hours longer. It's not a race.

I do work for people. they have no time to wait for my slow G4 to get the work done. I can do 4 videos for them and get them their work and get me my $$$ in the time the G5 iMac takes for ONE. People have lives. My friend does not seem to understand that computers for a lot of people need to get the job done and as fast as possible. Time is $$$.

And to marty, remember one reason for the Intel Switch was because IBM could not even make a G5 that would run in a thin notebook computer and the G4 by then was way too slow.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,943
Reaction score
578
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
I have a friend (and I use that term loosely) who hates Intel Macs. Says the G3 and G4 are Superior. I tell him 2.5-3 hours to convert a video here for burning on my 2.1Ghz iMac G5, 3.5-4+ hours on my 1.5Ghz G4 and 22-25 minutes on the Intel C2D Mini. He says so what, the G4 is better even if it takes hours longer. It's not a race.
In many instances, the "slow and steady wins the race" approach has meaning because usually going slower can increase the chances of having a higher quality product. When you're encoding video, that makes no sense. A video will not be better quality if it takes longer as long as the faster chip can keep up (such as having enough memory). Computers aren't prone to the same level of error as man (and usually when something goes wrong it's because of human programming error) and as such, they don't necessarily have to go slower. Now, there are instances of when it is argued that going slower is better (burning a CD for instance) but to be honest, I've never had problems burning a CD at the fastest speed possible. The thing to remember is that computers are in essence to epitome of the hare (from the tortoise and the hare) - that which goes the fastest is better (this could be argued to be not entirely right if you introduce the rise of netbooks into the conversation).

You should suggest to your "friend" that he use a mac from the early 90's. Nothing will get him back to reality quicker. ;)
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
2,073
Reaction score
68
Points
48
Location
Ithaca NY
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch alMacBook 2GHz C2D 4G DDR3, 1.25GHz G4 eMac
Uh...no. This removes languages, not architectures.

Um, no. It removes languages and architectures. Think/read before you type.

Also, agree with Bob. Don't do that. It's not worth it.
 
OP
D
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G4 MDD 1.5 GHZ (OC) 1.25 GB Ubuntu and Leopard INTEL SUCK IT!!
Okay, I don't have irrational issues with intel macs, just intel in general. I don't do much video encoding, but I need computers that can run a PPC OS called MorphOS, which runs on some ppc macs, they are working on powermac g4 and laptop ports. I really don't care about all those new features, nor the POS technology its based on and the low quality parts of the newer macs (in relation to PPC era) I am currently waiting for the new A-EON to be released, its going to be a great machine
 

dtravis7


Retired Staff
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
30,133
Reaction score
703
Points
113
Location
Modesto, Ca.
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Some say that the PPC Mini works great with Morph OS.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5,473
Reaction score
201
Points
63
Location
Down Under :D
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
OP
D
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Your Mac's Specs
Power Mac G4 MDD 1.5 GHZ (OC) 1.25 GB Ubuntu and Leopard INTEL SUCK IT!!
Yeah but a powermac port is upcoming next release
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top