SSD Hard drive

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" 2.26ghz MacBook 6,1 Late 2009 250GB HD 8GB ram, Mavericks, 30GB Ipod Video, 16GB Iphone 5 ;-)
I'm thinking of upgrading my hard drive to SSD and use the original as a backup drive for time machine.

Does Crucial have good reliable SSD? Their rams are excellent but I've never used any of their SSD before. Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Does Crucial have good reliable SSD? Their rams are excellent but I've never used any of their SSD before. Thanks.

We usually recommend Crucial or OWC for memory. As for SSDs, I believe OWC makes the best ones.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2015 MBP 13 Retina
I have several Crucial SSDs. I have both the newer MX200 and BX100 Crucial drives. I am very happy with both. Even my old Crucial M4 is still going strong. I also have an older Corsair SSD. That one has given me a few small troubles over the years. I really like the Crucial drives though. As chscag also suggested, OWC has good drives too. OWC is definitely the way to go if you have a newer Macbook with a drive that isn't the standard 2.5 inch laptop drive.

Either option you go with will make you're 2007 Macbook feel like new again :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2015 MBP 13 Retina
Also recommend OWC. Have had inquiries on the forum about the latest SATA III 6Gb/ps SSDs not being compatible with pre 2009 Macbooks so suggest you look at a SATA II which is backwards compatible with SATA, the speed of your MacBook, if we are talking about the machine in your avatar.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/internal_storage/SSD/Mercury_Electra_3G_Solid_State