Safari Browser stuck on page

Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I am stuck on a browser page. A pop-up message keeps appearing, and when I hit OK, it pops back up. I can't open any other pages or close the page with the popup message. Can anyone tell me how to fix this?

http://i.imgur.com/J7wRd7v.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Quit Safari.
Turn off wifi/unplug ethernet. (get off internet)
Start Safari. Close window, open another one. Reset Safari.
Get back on the internet. Don't go to that site again.
 
OP
C
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Thanks very much, I did all, except I didn't see a Reset Safari option, but it did work!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
It's in the Safari menu, right under Private browsing.
 
OP
C
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I don't see Private Browsing either. Under Preferences, I see Privacy, but nothing about reset.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Not in Preferences. Under the Safari menu in the menubar.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Not here either cradom unless you mean New Private Window under File?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
What version of Safari are you using?
Your menubar doesn't look like this?

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 3.14.37 PM.png
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
We're using Safari 8 Craig. Your version is an earlier one which is why no one is understanding where the "reset" is. ;)
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Ah, more "intelligence" from Apple.
Why would they remove the ability to reset? Or did they? Was it moved?
They don't WANT anyone to be able to fix things?
BTW I'm using 7.1 (correction, I HAVE 7.1, I USE Firefox)
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Well that is one way of putting it! Poor Apple wrong again.

Maybe the up to date resest is under Clear Histrory and Website Data.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top