purchase advice MacBook Pro 2015 15" 2.8 GHz vs 2018 15" 2.2 GHz

Reaction score
Good evening,

I recently bought a refurbished Macbook Pro 2015 15" 2.8 GHz 256 GB. Now I found out that this Macbook Pro has a failure on its mainboard which leads to problems with its graphic unit and the USB ports. The shop where I bought it gave me the choice to replace the Macbook Pro 2015 for the identical model or to choose a 2018 15" MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz in a used look but technically perfect for some more money.
I searched for advice which Macbook to choose on google where I found a lot of criticism still on the 2018 keyboard. I don't know anyone who owns a 2018 Macbook, so I can only conclude from the rumors that the prabability that a failure occurs on the keyboard is pretty high.
I am a student working a lot with coding e.g. with MATLAB/Simulink where I run a lot of dynamic models. Also, I work a lot on optimization which comes along with very long calculations with high processor load.
Now I wanted to ask for your advice. Would you rather choose the 2015 model again or would you upgrade to the newer 2018 model?
I'd be very interested especially on your own experience with the 2018 model according to the rumors that already very small particles can cause problems with the keyboard. Also if the heat development of the CPU and GPU can cause problems with the keyboard as well.

Thank you very much for your advice!

Best regards

Chris

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
I had the 2017 MBP 13". I kept the keyboard covered to prevent the dust under the keys issue. I never had any problems with it. The 2018 was supposed to have a membrane installed that was supposed to keep the dust out and prevent the issue.