Powered USB hub recommendation for Mac Studio

Reaction score

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2023-03-25 at 7.13.58 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2023-03-25 at 7.13.58 PM.png
    108 KB · Views: 1
Reaction score
but it's connection to the Mac is USB C, not Thunderbolt, so it'll work, just not a the data rates of Thunderbolt. Anyone have any suggestions?

I have no personal experience with these hubs, but they were highly recommended elsewhere:

Plugable 14-in-1 USB-C and Thunderbolt Dock - 40Gbps with 96W Charging, Compatible with Mac and Windows, 2X HDMI 2.0 and DisplayPort, 7X USB Ports, Ethernet, Audio, SD/MicroSD
$269
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08HR3T837/?tag=macforums0e4-20

Satechi THUNDERBOLT 4 DOCK
three Thunderbolt 4, four USB-A (three data, one charging), Gigabit Ethernet, UHS-II card reader, and 3.5mm audio jack port
$300

That said, I want to point out something that is extremely important. It's highly likely that all, or just about all, of your peripherals connect via either USB 3.0 or USB 2.0. That being the case, you don't need a hub that supports Thunderbolt 3/4, as none of your connections will be able to take advantage of the extra speed.

What peripherals do you need to connect to?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16" 2023 (M3 Pro), iPhone 15 Pro, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMinis (multiple)
Also, it appears that using TB devices with a hub can slow them down. Here are a couple of articles on the subject:

Reaction score
Also, it appears that using TB devices with a hub can slow them down.

Very interesting articles! Thanks!

This is probably inconsequential for any attached peripheral other than a storage device (SSD or RDHD.) Most peripherals don't require a wildly fast connection. (There are monitors that connect via TB, but they are rare and ultra-expensive.)