Please help me choose - Macbook Pro 16 for video editing

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am planning on getting a Macbook pro 16 inch base model i7 or i9.
I mostly do 4k video editing on Premiere Pro. I use after effects as well occasionally. I also add a lot of mogrt files to my videos (which I have found to slow the playback massively).
I am considering to start using Final Cut Pro once I get the macbook.
I really wanted to know how the timeline playback is like on either of the base macbook pro 16 inch models?
I am not really bothered by the render times and what not. I just want a smooth editing experience.

I am fairly new to video editing, so I am sorry if all this sounds a bit silly !
Thanks a lot!
:)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
Well here is my 2 cents. I recently purchased and am now returning a 13” MBP. Why? Because I ordered the i7 with 16GB of memory then edited some short HD 1080 video projects in Premiere Pro. The editing process was amazingly smooth. Timeline scrubbing was perfectly smooth. But when I encoded it took 22 minutes to do a 4 minute video. It really maxed out the memory and iStat showed it using 11GB. I just felt I needed to future proof and the extra memory should do that so, I ordered one with 32GB.

I do the occasional 4K project but so far I have not had a lot of request for that. I work with what they provide and it is mostly HD. My first 4K project a few years back pushed me from Premiere Pro CS6 to pay for CC. I also edit on a very beefy Windows PC that is my main editor so Final Cut Pro is not practical for me but, I have used Final Cut Pro. It has a several differences that made it ackward for me when I am so use to Premiere. It is a great product just not for me.