PhotoFilename

Reaction score
I have a 2022 MacBook running the latest Ventura OS with several thousand digitized photos in my Photo application. I wrote an Applescript to adjust some dates because some photos were obviously improperly dated for examplesummer photos with winter date. My Applescript functions accurately with the exception that I cannot seem to change the date which was on the imported photo file. I get the filename with the following code:

set PhotoFilename to filename of thisItem

However even though my Applescript log indicates that the date is changed the result is that it is not changed in actuality.

Is it possible to change the photo filename without exporting the photo from the Photo Application?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 16" 2023 (M3 Pro), iPhone 15 Pro, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMinis (multiple)
I am no expert, but your post seems contradictory, so if you could clarify, maybe someone will be able to help.

What is it you are trying to do? You mentioned changing the dates, but then asked if it was possible to change the filename. Which is it? Those are two different things.

Also, if it is the name, there is a "title" for each image, which defaults to the name of the imported file. Are you trying to change the title, or the filename?

And finally, how are you importing the images to Photos? By that I mean, in Photos/Settings, is the "Copy items to the Photos Library" checked? How that is set has a bearing on what you have asked.

OP
M
Reaction score
My apologies for not being more clear.