Outlook for Mac: PST vs. OLM File

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini M1 (8gb Memory / 500 gb Hard drive) Running Sonoma 14.0
Hi, I am a new Mac user, and in my previous life with Windows was an Outlook use (O365 subscription), however I wish to move away from my old habits, and as such ditch Outlook.
My issue is I have been using Outlook (and Exchange before that) for over 25 years, and have a large amount of PST files where I have archived old emails. I have converted these to OLM via Outlook for Mac, but I understand that with the exception of Outlook, there is no easy method of accessing the files - hopefully you will prove me wrong.
Also, how can I archive files out of the Mac mail system to enable to remove them from my server, many thanks :)

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
If you are trying to ditch Outlook, what new service/application where you hoping to switch to?

Depending on that, you might want to see if there's a way of importing your old emails into that service so that it's accessible, ideally, in a generic way so that you can access it in the future without trouble.

Reaction score
I have converted these to OLM via Outlook for Mac, but I understand that with the exception of Outlook, there is no easy method of accessing the files - hopefully you will prove me wrong.

This product will allow you to convert those files into any other format that you like, to import into any other e-mail program:

Emailchemy ($30)

You can choose another e-mail client program from any of a large number of choices. See:
Macintosh Email Software

Though the overwhelming number of Macintosh users use Apple's included Mail program:

Mail User Guide
Mail User Guide for Mac

Also, how can I archive files out of the Mac mail system to enable to remove them from my server, many thanks :)

There are a number of Macintosh e-mail archiving programs. Here is a list:
Macintosh Email Software

OP
Jimmysb