Opening hyperlinks from Word

Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I've never come across this problem before but how the heck do you open hyperlinks from a word document?! The hyperlink is to a webpage. I know it works cause I've done so from said document on a PC. Can someone please tell me how it works on macs?
 

BrianLachoreVPI


Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Location
Maryland
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Have you tried holding down cmd while clicking? On Windows it's cntrl-click.
 
OP
X
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Yes tried this. Tried most of the function keys but nothing seems to be happening. So strange. Anyone else come across this before?
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
580
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
If it's properly formatted as a hyperlink, just click it. If it's not, you'll have to make it one by selecting the text and pushing Command-K or Insert > Hyperlink.
 
OP
X
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
1
But I'm not trying to Insert a hyperlink, I'm trying to open a pre-existing one. When I put the cursor over the hyperlink in the word document it changes to a hand cursor. So the hyperlink is still there, it just doesn't do anything when I click. And like I said it worked when I opened the document in Windows. Don't understand it.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
580
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
If you right click it > Hyperlink > Open Hyperlink, does it then open?

What is the hyperlink? It's possible that it is wrongly formatted.
 
OP
X
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
1
When I right click it there is no Hyperlink option. The hyperlink is supposed to go a web page. I'm using 2008 version of word, if that helps.
 

vansmith

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
19,946
Reaction score
580
Points
113
Location
Queensland
Your Mac's Specs
Too many devices to list
There should be. What happens if you select the hyperlink option in the Insert menu?
 
OP
X
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Nothing. Just comes up with the option to Insert a hyperlink.

EDIT: It's ok, worked it out! The hyperlink option wasn't showing when I right clicked because there was a spelling mistake in the sentence.
Thanks for your help though.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top