Older iBook Identification

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.67 Ghz 17" PB w/1 GB Ram; 400 MHz PM G4, 366Mhz iBook Firewire, Nano 4GB Black
Ok, a friend IMed me to tell me that "holy sh*t, I'm on a mac." He had traded his older stereo for it and knows very little of it's stats. Here's what he can tell:

Blue on Top (iBook SE is my impression??)
128 MB Ram
10 GB Hard Drive
1 USB
1 Firewire
OS 9.1
Guessing 14" but not sure (he said either 12" or 14", which doesn't help)
Wireless

I looked at the stats on Apple-History.com and they seem close to the iBook SE but they don't match exactly (my friend's is better).

Can anyone tell me what my friend has, as well as how much Ram it can take? He wants to upgrade to OS X, and will up the Ram for that. Can it handle it, and what version would be best? Also, in OS 9, where can my friend go to see the equivalent to "system profiler?" Thanks! He's never used a mac before, and I've never used OS 9 before, so I can't be of much help to him.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
It appears that he may have an iBook SE (FireWire).

CPU: PowerPC 750cx
CPU Speed: 366/466 MHz
FPU: integrated
Bus Speed: 66 MHz
Data Path: 64 bit
ROM: 1 MB ROM + 3 MB toolbox ROM loaded into RAM
RAM Type: PC66 SO-DIMM
Minimum RAM Speed: 66 MHz
Onboard RAM: 64 MB
RAM Slots: 1
Maximum RAM: 320 MB - May be able to get more
Level 1 Cache: 32 kB data, 32 kB instruction
Level 2 Cache: 256 kB on-chip, 1:1
Screen: 12.1" active matrix
Video Card: ATI Rage Mobility (2x AGP)
VRAM: 8 MB
Maximum Resolution: 24 bit 800x600
Optical Drive: 24x CD-ROM
Hard Disk: 10 GB
ATA Bus: ATA-66
Ethernet: 10/100Base-T
USB: 1
FireWire: 1
Video Out: Composite A/V
Audio Out: stereo 16 bit mini
Speaker(s): mono
Modem: 56 kbps
AirPort: optional
Gestalt ID: 406
Power: 45 Watts
Weight: 6.6 lbs.
Dimensions: 11.6" H x 13.5" W x 1.8" D
Minimum OS: 9.0.4
Maximum OS: 10.3.7

Introduced: September 2000

Terminated: May 2001
iBook/iBook SE (FireWire)