New MBP keeps crashing; about ready to switch back to a PC

Reaction score
I've had this thing for less than a month, and it's actually 1/10th as stable as Windows was for me.

I'm a developer (for 20+ years), so I have a lot of stuff installed. At least when Windows would start going bad, usually about every 3-4 mos, I could see it starting, and would know about when it was time to get ready for a wipe and reinstall.

For the past couple of weeks, this thing crashes when I open the lid to bring it out of Standby (or Sleep, or whatever you call it). The screen is black, there's a garbagey strip along the top of the display, but the mouse cursor is fine. I have to hold down the power button to force it off, then bring it back up.

What's interesting is if I hit the function key to activate Spaces, I can see the "display" that is now crunched into about five pixels at the top of the screen, change.

On other occasions, I'll open the lid, and the screen is fine, or mostly fine (like it takes a while to redraw completely), but the mouse cursor has turned into a block of garbage. Only when I find a program that forces the cursor to change to something else (like a text selector or hand) does it fix it.

To me, this seems more like a hardware problem than a software problem, but I'm not completely sure. I figured I would post here about it before throwing the thing through a window. I have doubts about an Apple Store being able to do anything about it unless they have a special tool to diagnose hardware problems.

This is on Snow Leopard, fully updated, with all the developer tools installed, plus CS4, Tomcat, Railo, ColdFusion 9, Thunderbird, Firefox 3.6, Chrome, Twirl, Forklift, Skype, VirtualBox, Eclipse, and lots, lots more. Various stuff from the MacPorts collection too.

I'm fairly UNIX-savvy, as I used to run Linux a lot before switching to the Mac... I've looked through the logs but haven't seen anything that stands out.