New MacBook Pro 15 inch Mid 2017 Getting hot easily

Reaction score
Hey guys,

So my new MacBook Pro gets hot really easily above 70 degrees celsius when im not doing very much besides maybe browsing the web and having a few minor programs opened, I don't know if this is common, but I feel like the area above the Touch bar is too hot.

Earlier today I had an external monitor a 23 inch 1080p attached and it seemed like it was getting extremely hot as well, im not an expert but if it gets so hot when having a simple 1080 I cannot imagine how it must be to have two 4k UltraFine Displays connected?

Is there anyone who can enlighten me on whats a normal temperature for the newest MacBooks?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Is there anyone who can enlighten me on whats a normal temperature for the newest MacBooks?

Philosophically speaking...as with many things...there really is no "normal"...unless the conditions of "normal" are specifically defined. Without specifying exactly what "normal" is...one person's normal is not someone else's normal. Lol.

But more to the point...when the 70°C situation happens again...open up Activity monitor...and see where the the CPU resources are being used. You may find that there's an app or apps open or a video on a webpage being viewed...that's using a lot of CPU resources. And if this is the case...then the situation that you think is "normal"...may not be the "normal" you thought it was.:)

- Nick

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
What matters the most is once the temps get higher, the fans should kick in to bring that down. My 15" 2017 MBP normally operates around 48-50C at "idle". As I begin to do things with the machine, the temps go up but the fans also kick in at a higher rate.