NAS vs SAN for backing up data.

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to this site and I am sorry if this question has been asked already. If it has, please send me the link to the answer.

I am a videographer who has about 8TB of video on a Mediasonic PRORAID with 4x 5TB hard drives formatted as a RAID 5.

I just accidentally formatted my entire RAID, but luckily I made a backup before I left for vacation last week onto an extern 8TB hard drive. I just got back and bought a new hard drive and when I went to format it in Disk Utility, I accidentally choose my raid and erased everything.

I realized that I can not trust myself or a single storage device to ensure that I will never delete my data again.

I was thinking about adding a seagate NAS and then using my RAID as a local backup but the only issue is that the NAS only comes with 5TB. After watching a video online that describes the difference between NAS and SAN, I like the idea of setting up a SAN so I can easily add more storage later without too much hassle.

My question is, is there a off the shelf SAN that I could buy with around 20TBs of storage?

I am not tech savvy but in a perfect world, I would love to be able to have a system in place so when I am done filming a project, I can copy all the data onto one hard drive which is then automatically backed up and then I would use an offline third hard drive to manually back up the back up either daily or weekly.

Is the below setup possible?

Imac 27" --------> 15TB SAN --------> 15TB RAID (TIME MACHINE for automated backup) --------> 15TB Offline RAID or Hard drive

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time,
Sam

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air Mid-2012 / iMac Retina 5K Late-2014