Moving to a new Mac with a time machine backup...

A

anthonyjh

Guest
I know that even after you've deleted something from the trash, it's still retrievable - if only by a few, smart people who know what they're doing. If you move to a new Mac and transfer your data over using Time Machine, are these 'deleted' files accessible on the new Mac, too?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
No. The Time Machine migration method only moves the data not unused or deleted space. However, cloning software (SuperDuper, CCC) will copy and move unused and deleted space - so keep that in mind.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top