• Welcome to the new Mac-Forums. See News and Community Announcements for more details.

macOS Catalina (10.15) is now available

H

honestone33

Guest
I have some others, VirtualBox, TrainerRoad, VLC, iSkysoft Video Converter, iTube Studio, appCleaner, Cyberduck, Cisco VPN, Docker, Goland, Pycharm, MS Remote Desktop, qBitTorrent, Skype, VNCViewer, WhatsApp, etc

The biggest work critical that I need to work immediately is MS Office though, the others I can imagine will get updates in the first week so can life with waiting for them.

Just hoping someone on here has MSOffice 2016 and can confirm they've upgraded and it works.
G
From the link mentioned above:

Application Compatibility Table — RoaringApps

you will see that VLC is already compatible. I don't use any of the others in your list, so you'll need to check them out on that page one by one.
 
H

honestone33

Guest
I can vouch for VirtualBox and App Cleaner. Both appear to work flawlessly for me.
Thanks for that, regarding AppCleaner. In visiting their website, there is no indication if it being compatible with Catalina:

AppCleaner

Yet, on that other site, it says it is. Again, thanks for verifying that it is.
 
H

honestone33

Guest
Hi georgelza,

I'm assuming from your posts that you have NOT yet upgraded to macOS Catalina? If MS Office 2016 is work critical, and if I'm not being impudent, what's the rush? Why not stay with your current Operating System until the dust settles, so to speak?

Better to stick with a fully operational Operating System than take risks with a new System that is still in its infancy:)

Ian
That's EXCELLENT advice, and one I have always gone along with. As it is, given that Micromat will (most likely, based on prior history) not have a version of Tech Tool Pro for Catalina ready for a couple of months, I suspect by the time that happens, the .2 release of Catalina will already be available. Just like last year, I will then most likely wait until the .3 release of Catalina. By that time, almost all of the bugs in Catalina will have been worked out.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
Points
6
ye, noticed after posting that that VLC is listed

G

From the link mentioned above:

Application Compatibility Table — RoaringApps

you will see that VLC is already compatible. I don't use any of the others in your list, so you'll need to check them out on that page one by one.
- - - Updated - - -

I can confirm, tested myself, both App Cleaner and Virtual box worked, so not a link that says yes, I've done the upgrade and confirmed this now.

G

Thanks for that, regarding AppCleaner. In visiting their website, there is no indication if it being compatible with Catalina:

AppCleaner

Yet, on that other site, it says it is. Again, thanks for verifying that it is.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
8,400
Reaction score
360
Points
83
Location
The Republic of Neptune
Your Mac's Specs
27" 2019 iMac
I don't know what everyone's experience has been with running macOS in a VM, but I did a little reading and experimenting today. I've never gotten VirtualBox to install OS X in a vm even though Apple has allowed it since 10.7, but I knew Parallels and VMWare supported it. I found an article detailing how to get macOS on VirtualBox by first starting with an install under a free trial VMWare Fusion (link below for anyone interested), but the process is rather convoluted. I started to try it, but with all the hoops to jump through, I wound up just doing a full install of Mojave under VMWare Fusion and it went smoothly with no hoops to jump through. I think I'm just going to bite the bullet and buy it. VirtualBox is just too much of a hassle for this.

MacStrategy | Article | Virtualising OS X 10.11 El Capitan
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,038
Reaction score
151
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
LIAB, I did the same thing with Parallels, but cannot discover if 32 bit apps will run in the virtual machine under Catalina. I have two conflicting answers, yes and no. So I'm holding off until the developer of the printer drivers I need gets the 64-bit versions out. I did get an email saying they are working on it, so I am moderately optimistic.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
8,400
Reaction score
360
Points
83
Location
The Republic of Neptune
Your Mac's Specs
27" 2019 iMac
LIAB, I did the same thing with Parallels, but cannot discover if 32 bit apps will run in the virtual machine under Catalina. I have two conflicting answers, yes and no. So I'm holding off until the developer of the printer drivers I need gets the 64-bit versions out. I did get an email saying they are working on it, so I am moderately optimistic.
I didn’t get a chance to try out 32-bit apps yet in the VM but will sometime tomorrow. That and Wineskin-wrapped apps in the VM.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
8,400
Reaction score
360
Points
83
Location
The Republic of Neptune
Your Mac's Specs
27" 2019 iMac
I didn’t get a chance to try out 32-bit apps yet in the VM but will sometime tomorrow. That and Wineskin-wrapped apps in the VM.
Ok, so I was able to run a 32-bit game (GNOG by Double Fine) in a Mojave vm under VMWare Fusion 11.5 on Catalina. This same game definitely will not run under Catalina. It ran very sluggishly, but my MBA isn't well specced for something this demanding. I tried running a couple Wineskinned apps but never got their UI to open up. But that may be due to my system getting sluggish from all the overhead from the VM. It's silly anyway to run a Windows app using Wineskin in a macOS vm.... may as well just use a Windows vm to run the app.
 

IWT


Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
6,551
Reaction score
233
Points
63
Location
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 5K Retina 27", August 2019, 3.6GHz Intel Core i9, Memory 32GB, 2TB SSD, macOS Mojave 10.14.6

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,461
Reaction score
755
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
It's silly anyway to run a Windows app using Wineskin in a macOS vm.... may as well just use a Windows vm to run the app.
I agree. Right now I'm holding on for CodeWeavers to come out with a new version of CrossOver that supposedly will be able to run Windows 32 bit apps from Catalina. I'm not entirely certain they will succeed in doing so. Using WINE to wrap Windows apps to run from macOS is hard enough, but with the 64 bit restriction it's even more difficult.

My other option is to run VirtualBox and install my copy of Windows 7 or ReactOS (a Windows clone).
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
8,400
Reaction score
360
Points
83
Location
The Republic of Neptune
Your Mac's Specs
27" 2019 iMac
I agree. Right now I'm holding on for CodeWeavers to come out with a new version of CrossOver that supposedly will be able to run Windows 32 bit apps from Catalina. I'm not entirely certain they will succeed in doing so. Using WINE to wrap Windows apps to run from macOS is hard enough, but with the 64 bit restriction it's even more difficult.

My other option is to run VirtualBox and install my copy of Windows 7 or ReactOS (a Windows clone).
I need to take a harder look at ReactOS sometime, especially if it’s “lighter” than Windows and more suitable for a vm. I’m planning to upgrade my iMac this weekend (current model with plenty of RAM) so I’ll report back on how well it handles more apps in a vm.

I saw CodeWeaver’s current results and it’s looking promising, although I agree getting parity with the current compatibility may never happen.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
Points
6
some strange programs not showing compatible atm...
iPhoto, GarageBand,

for the non apple stuff I'll contact the vendors and see/hear.

G
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,461
Reaction score
755
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
The iPhoto app and older version of GarageBand are 32 bit and no longer supported by Apple. iPhoto has been replaced by Photos and there is a new version of GarageBand in the Mac App store. Both are 64 bit and will work with Catalina.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
Points
6
ye, but you'd think this is Apple controlled, installed Apps. App would have removed them, similar to how they removed iTunes and replaced with Music/Podcast and TV.

G
 
Joined
May 21, 2012
Messages
7,833
Reaction score
141
Points
63
Location
13th state, U.S.A.
Your Mac's Specs
iPhone 11 iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13, Late 2014 Mac Mini macOS 10.15
ye, but you'd think this is Apple controlled, installed Apps. App would have removed them, similar to how they removed iTunes and replaced with Music/Podcast and TV.

G
Two different things, one set, is included with OS, the other(s) are not.


Sent from my iPad using Mac-Forums
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
Points
6
... ye but I did not install Garage band or iPhoto, as such I see it as shipped and maintained by Apple.
but guess I"m expecting to much. :)
 

Raz0rEdge

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
12,664
Reaction score
305
Points
83
Location
MA
Your Mac's Specs
2018 Mac-Mini macOS Catalina 10.15.5, 32 GB
LIAB, I did the same thing with Parallels, but cannot discover if 32 bit apps will run in the virtual machine under Catalina. I have two conflicting answers, yes and no. So I'm holding off until the developer of the printer drivers I need gets the 64-bit versions out. I did get an email saying they are working on it, so I am moderately optimistic.
That would depend on what OS you run in that VM. So if you run Mojave or previous version of macOS on a VM in Parallels on Catalina, you can still use those 32-bit applications within that VM. This might be a viable solutions for those that want to stick with 32-bit applications that will not be upgraded until they find alternatives.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
8,400
Reaction score
360
Points
83
Location
The Republic of Neptune
Your Mac's Specs
27" 2019 iMac
I need to take a harder look at ReactOS sometime, especially if it’s “lighter” than Windows and more suitable for a vm. I’m planning to upgrade my iMac this weekend (current model with plenty of RAM) so I’ll report back on how well it handles more apps in a vm.

I saw CodeWeaver’s current results and it’s looking promising, although I agree getting parity with the current compatibility may never happen.
Alrighty, upgrades are complete here. With Mojave running in a VM under VMWare Fusion, 32-bit apps and games will run, albeit sluggishly at least when it comes to games, but that's to be expected. I couldn't get any of my Wineskin-wrapped Windows apps to run, but it'd make more sense to run those Windows apps in a Windows VM anyway so no loss for anyone but the most extreme Windows haters out there.

I had a mixed bag of issues. On my wife's Mac mini, Music somehow failed to import the artwork for much of her music, even though that artwork is embedded in the m4v/mp4 files. On my iMac, I don't appear to be missing any artwork. I don't get why this happened, but it's an easy fix... remove the albums that are missing artwork and re-import. Other issues... I had to reinstall a couple apps even though they were compatible (Private Internet Access and Steermouse). There may be more that I'll find over time that will need reinstalling. Otherwise, it's gone well. There are a LOT more requests to authorize apps to do different things ("app" wants to access your Downloads folder; "app" wants to access your Documents folder; "app" wants to access an external device (my USB drive). These were all necessary and triggered by normal use, but man oh man it was getting annoying.

I have to say that I LOVE being able to sync and manage my iDevices via the Finder. I've always hated having to make a special effort to open iTunes just to sync, especially since my iMac is in a room upstairs. No more! A couple things to be aware of. You'll have to plug in your iDevice into the Mac and check the settings to be sure you are set to "Show this iPhone" when on Wi-Fi" and "Automatically sync...". Once done, and after doing an initial sync, you will need to reboot your iDevice and the Mac for the device to show up wirelessly in Finder. After this point, anytime you charge your device from any source (including a wireless charging base), it will automatically sync to the Mac.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
8,038
Reaction score
151
Points
63
Location
Winchester, VA
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
OK, so I tried to install Catalina to an external thumb drive. Downloaded the installer, made a bootable USB with the installer on it. Let's call that Little Thumb. Then detached all of my external devices to make it simple and booted from the USB installer. Inserted a 256GB USB3 thumb drive (Let's call that Big Thumb) to a USB port, formatted it HFS+ just to make sure it had GUID as well, then pointed the installer to Big Thumb and let it install. About 45 minutes later it wanted to know if I wanted to migrate and I said yes, then pointed to the internal drive of the MBP for the source. Let it run overnight. In the morning, had a long series of messages about files that couldn't be moved and one message that said the user name (of my account) couldn't be created. Cue the ominous music. Answered some questions about iCloud, Siri, etc, then the system finished booting from the Big Thumb. It had my user name to log in, so I'm feeling slightly better. Got it booted, but when I went to Documents, nada. Tried Applications, none of my third party software was there, no music, no pictures, no files, nothing.

So, at that point I quit. I'm not going to risk any upgrade to this can of worms until I have some concrete evidence that it will actually migrate data. Given it takes a full day to do the migration, I'll give it a go about once a week, maybe.

This is the first time Migration Assistant has failed for me. I was surprised, as none of the files listed in the warnings were things I would have though critical--files in trashcan, some plists, a few configuration files. Nothing about any applications or any data files from my account.

Has anybody done a clean install and then used Migration to get their data to the drive on an external drive? Is there something hidden that I need to do/check/uncheck/fix/sprinkle fairy dust on?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
60,461
Reaction score
755
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, Numerous iPods, Catalina
I can't explain what happened with your installation, but I can relate that I have never seen such a large amount of macOS installation failures and glitches with any other macOS installation. The MacRumors forum is filled with stories about things going wrong when installing Catalina. And you're not alone concerning the MA failure.

The various computer rags have already termed Catalina as Apple's Vista. Might be wise to wait on this one Jake. I know I am even though I did install it to an external SSD.
 
Top