Macbook Pro -Mid 2010- RAM Upgrade

Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I have a Macbook Pro Mid 2010 version. I want to upgrade my RAM from 4Gb from to 8Gb.

The Macbook Pro user guide states I need,
PC3-8500 DDR3 1066 MHz type RAM

I have found some Crucial RAM for a good price and would like to purchase it however this RAM is,
PC3-8500 DDR3 1067 MHz type RAM:

Note the change in Mhz setting. Will this affect anything? Can I upgrade with RAM without any problems?

Thanks in advanced.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
98
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5" Mid 2009 4GB 500GB 7200RPM, Macbook Pro 15" Mid 2010 8GB 750GB 7200RPM, iPhone 4
I recently upgraded my MBP ram to 8GB. I purchased my memory off Ebay for $40 with lifetime warranty. I would only purchase the 1066 MHz (which is what I went with).
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
4,695
Reaction score
73
Points
48
Location
houston texas
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
Crucial is what the majority of Mac users that I know use with no known problems.
If you look at About This Mac you will notice Apple uses 1067MHz in reality they may be the same but I have yet to here a complaint about Crucial.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
@El3et

Do not double post. Post only once, do not start another thread for the same subject. Your duplicate post has been deleted.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
im not too familiar with macs, however, i do know that the RAM speed is adjustable. so you should technically be fine with a faster RAM stick. you can always change the speed in the computer (im assuming).
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
1066 and 1067 MHZ are one and the same. Both can be used provided they're DDR3 modules.

im not too familiar with macs, however, i do know that the RAM speed is adjustable. so you should technically be fine with a faster RAM stick. you can always change the speed in the computer (im assuming).

You can not change the speed of the memory or the bus. Memory speed is not adjustable.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
1066 and 1067 MHZ are one and the same. Both can be used provided they're DDR3 modules.



You can not change the speed of the memory or the bus. Memory speed is not adjustable.

in a mac you cant set what speed you want it to run at?
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,247
Reaction score
1,834
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
in a mac you cant set what speed you want it to run at?

That's correct. Mac computers do not use a BIOS, they use EFI (Extensible Firmware Interface) to control the booting process and other hardware implementation.

I imagine if you search the net you can probably find information about over clocking a Mac, but out of the box, speeds (memory, bus, etc) can not be adjusted.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top