Macbook Pro HUGE battery loss when laptop is sleeping; how much is normal?

Reaction score
How much battery loss is acceptable or expected when my new 13" non-retina Macbook is in sleep mode (with no programs/apps running) overnight? I'm seeing a drop of 30% in battery life, and, since I'm new to Mac, want to know if this is to be expected. It's certainly surprising. I'd read that it was better to put the laptop to sleep rather than shut it down when I won't be using it for short periods of time, but the battery loss is pretty significant, it seems to me. I just upgraded to El Capitan, so I'm running up to date software. Thanks for any insights.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Which MacBook do you have, year and model? Then maybe we can attempt to answer your question.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2015 MBP 13 Retina
I am actually having a similar problem. Although, mine only seems to be doing it at work. It is losing about 5% per hour at work only. I do not have this problem at home at all. I am wondering if the WiFi/network at work is somehow preventing it from sleeping.

Try turning off your WiFi before you let it sleep. I am just curious to see if it still loses that much power when WiFi is turned off.

OP
E
Reaction score
The MacBook Pro is new, model A1278, just purchased last month but I believe the model dates from 2013. Non-retina model.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey