macbook battery cycle counter

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook,white 2.16ghz C2D/2GB RAM/120GB, iPOD 60GB
I'm new to mac OS X, about to be switcher in 2 weeks.

I always see the "cycle count" mentioned in forums, I guess it is a good basis for figuring out stuff when the macbook battery has some problems.

wondering what free programs can I install that would keep track of this? something I can install right after my first boot to keep a full record of it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White Macbook 2.0 ghz
Instead of using CoconutBattery, I was the Widget "iStat Pro" (which can be found here: http://islayer.com/index.php?op=item&id=7 ). It is a great Widget to have IMO. It displays battery life, charge, cycles, etc along with other useful information about your Macbook(i.e CPU use, Memory use, Processes, etc).

The only advantage that CoconutBattery has over iStat is that it will display how many mAh charge your battery has.

Also, you can always go to System profiler to find the same information that either CoconutBattery or iStat provide.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Instead of installing any extra crap... um I mean software ;), just look at your System Profiler.

Go to "About this Mac" from the Apple Menu
Click on the "More Info" button
Twirl down on the "Hardware" section
Then click the 'Power' section and look there.

When you do that you will see all of the information that those extra apps provide.
System Profiler said:
Battery Information:

Battery Installed: Yes
First low level warning: No
Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 4122
Remaining Capacity (mAh): 4042
Amperage (mA): 0
Voltage (mV): 12465
Cycle Count: 80

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MB 2.6 Ghz, 4 GB ram
Nice widget, this iStat Pro.

How will the cycle count handle multiple batteries?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2GHz, 512M RAM, 60GB HDD