• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

MacBook and iWatch

Reaction score
OK I am new to the Mac World (well not really been about 10 years since I used a Mac) but any ways, I want to get an iWatch but I do not want an iPhone i love my Android device and I am just not wanting to change. Can I sync the iWatch with the MacBook or do I need to have an iPhone, I know I can not sync the iWatch with Android device.

Just curious before I make the leap to the iWatch.

Thanks
Abdulah

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
Yes, Apple Watch needs iPhone, as of right now. I have heard rumors that it might happen in the future, to not need an iPhone, that is.

You could buy an older (used) iPhone and use it to setup the watch.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Your question has me wondering about something but it will be a few days before I can test my thinking.