MacBook 10,6,8

Reaction score
I may be repeating in an attempt to publish I will try again

Hello
The boss wanted me to 'clean' her MacBook. I wanted to simply insert the OS disk and do a clean install. If I press and hold the C key I end up at her desktop; if I press and hold the Option key I end up at her desktop.
I then attempted to use another setup desk OS X 10.5.4 - and I could holding the C key enter the install however the install message said this version could not be installed on this machine. I am in a business world with PCs so this is my first attempt into MacBook. If I could simply wipe all information while logged in as my boss I would but I think the clean install, starting fresh is best. The MacBook is to be a Christmas Gift for a five year old to learn computer skills - and if I could get a newly installed OS that would be great.
Thanks

Reaction score
Do you have Snow Leopard (10.6) install media? If not you can buy it from Apple.
If you really have to use the 10.5 install, boot from the media, when you get to the install screen look in the menubar and select Disk Utility.
Reformat the drive as HFS+ (journaled). Then you can install 10.5.
You cannot reinstall an older OS while the newer OS is still on the drive without reformatting.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I then attempted to use another setup desk OS X 10.5.4 - and I could holding the C key enter the install however the install message said this version could not be installed on this machine.

Sounds like you tried two disks (the 2nd one was the 10.5.4 disk). What did you try the first time?

What did these disks look like (color or graphics on the disks)?

Lastly. You need to tell us EXACTLY what model "MacBook" this is.

- Nick

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
@ OP: Please do not double post. Please continue the conversation here.:)

Thanks,