Mac Pro CPU

Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I'm interested in buying a new Mac Pro quad. I will purchase around december, so if the 6-core monsters aren't out by then, this is my question. If i bought a Mac Pro, would I have the ability to upgrade the CPU and/or add a second CPU. I think the motherboard can handle two CPU's, but I am not sure.

Please help;D!
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I'm interested in buying a new Mac Pro quad. I will purchase around december, so if the 6-core monsters aren't out by then, this is my question. If i bought a Mac Pro, would I have the ability to upgrade the CPU and/or add a second CPU. I think the motherboard can handle two CPU's, but I am not sure.

Please help;D!

Various Mac Pro models have been introduced since 2006...and in the approx. 4 years since then...there have been no official processor upgrade paths.

- Nick
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
As far as I am aware, a single CPU MP has a single CPU system board.
 
OP
S
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Various Mac Pro models have been introduced since 2006...and in the approx. 4 years since then...there have been no official processor upgrade paths.

- Nick

"Official"
I know that anand tech has done this but I am unsure if this will work with a 2009 MP.

I'll just wait for a hexacore mac pro so i am ready for the future!:D
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
481
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, Power Mac G4, iMac G3, iPhone 3GS
You can pretty much replace the CPU with any socket and chipset compatible CPU. That's everything I've ever read.
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
44,223
Reaction score
1,432
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
"Official"
I know that anand tech has done this but I am unsure if this will work with a 2009 MP.

I'll just wait for a hexacore mac pro so i am ready for the future!:D

Yes "Official" is the best way to put it.

Yes with some Mac Pro models you can upgrade the cpu's...but you have to know EXACTLY what you are doing...and you need to have some skill to do it (you did not say what your computer skills were like in your original post).

If you want more info on upgrading Mac Pro cpu's...start searching the internet. I have done it...and there is not a lot of info out there.

So back to my original statement...there is no "Official" upgrade path for Mac Pro cpu's.

- Nick
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top